Second Chance for Love?

1 01 2006

Well, here we are. We’ve made it to another year. Thank God. 2005 was really a phenomenal year for me. God blessed me with a new city, two jobs that I liked and my own apartment. But most importantly, I gained myself back. I grew into a woman that actually likes herself not just for the good but also for the bad.

As I look back not just on 2005 but on the past few years altogether, I realize that there are so many things I’d do differently. I often wish that God would give me another chance at some of those things so that I could redeem my foolish behavior. But the funny thing is that I think He does.

Everyday is a new opportunity to make up for something we failed to do in the past. If you failed to treat someone right in the past, God has given you another chance to love someone else today. If you made a wrong decision in the past, God has given you another chance to make a right one today. Everyday when I wake up in the morning, I say to God, "Thank you for another chance to do it over again." We always have opportunities to do better. After all, in the words of Maya Angelou "When you know better, you do better."

But do you ever think that there are some circumstances where you don’t get a second chance? Take love for example. When I think about past loves and likes, I can’t help but think about the ones I foolishly let slip away because of my own insecurities, misunderstandings or whatever I was lacking at the time. Sometimes what we’re looking for is sitting right up under our nose but we fail to see it because we’re too busy looking elsewhere–whether it be other people or other flaws that are really insignificant in the grand scheme of things. There are some loves and likes that I wish I could have second chance, but my chances have been taken by takers on the offer.

Maybe 2006 will be different. Maybe I’ll finally be able to see for myself just how to love even better than I did before.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

