Fight For Your Rights

25 12 2006

I went to go see The Pursuit of Happyness last night. Wow, so many
emotions after seeing that movie. Anger at homelessness and likewise at
complacency…Fears of failure…Hopes of the American dream…Love for
childlike innocence
…Triumph…Pity…Discouragement…Frustration…Faith……

As
much as we could talk about this country and how jacked up and corrupt
it is, isn’t it amazing that we could have so many opportunities right
at our fingertips. I mean, come on, yes, I know that racism and sexism
still exist in a major way and all of that. But think about it. Little
girls in S. Africa can’t even go to school. Not only do we have
opportunities to go to school but we have opportunities to excel in
school, own our own company and then go build a school of our own. Now
that’s opportunity…

But that’s not the point of this blog…

As
I sat there watching the movie I thought about all my own hopes and
dreams for the future. If we think about it, most of us are only a
paycheck away from being homeless just like Chris Gardner was. But even
in the midst of his string of bad fortune, he was persistent in
following his dream of happiness for him and his son. So what’s
stopping us from following after those passions that lie deep within
us? One of my biggest fears in life is raising a family without having
accomplished any of the things in life that I believe God put me here
on this earth to do.

I believe that we’ve all been created for
goodness. If that weren’t the case, then why would we be here on this
earth in the first place? And goodness can come in so many forms–it
could come from feeding homeless people, it could come from writing a
story that touches people’s hearts, it could come from fixing people’s
hearts in surgery. So why aren’t we doing it? Why do we let our dreams
slip away? One of the greatest privileges we have as citizens is that
we have the RIGHT to pursue happiness. And when I say happiness I’m not
necessarily talking about material possessions. I’m talking about
FULFILLMENT. What brings you utter joy? What do you enjoy doing so much
that it’s so intuitive and that you’d do it for free? Whatever that
thing is, you have the RIGHT to pursue it. You have the RIGHT to
achieve that. Our Constitution says so. God says so.

As we get
ready to embark on a new year, I hope that you will have the courage to
stand up and fight for your dreams. I hope that you will begin to
pursue those dreams with reckless abandon. I hope that you will
understand that you were created for goodness and that you have a right
to live a life that is fulfilling and happy. And most of all, I hope
that your dreams come true……

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

