I am a Christian But…

18 06 2007

I Am a Christian But…
…I’m starting to not really like church and churchy people all that much

I Am a Christian But…
…I’m not as convinced as others that George W. Bush is a "man of faith", but who am I to judge?

I Am a Christian But…
…I don’t think homosexuals are going to hell because they’re gay

I Am a Christian But…
…I think our version of Christianity is something we made up, not God

I Am a Christian But…
…I think somewhere along  the line, we got things all wrong

I Am a Christian But…
…There are times when I still question whether this whole thing is even real

I Am a Christian But…
…I think God thinks its ok for me to ask those questions

I Am a Christian But…
…Sometimes I think people who consider themselves "authorities" really don’t know what they’re talking about

I am a Christian But…
…I don’t think God really cares if I have one tattoo or twelve

I Am a Christian But…
…I’m not afraid to say I don’t know…

I
love Jesus and the more I read His word, I start to think that He’s
looking down on the church saying "Nice try, but you’ve got it all
wrong." Earlier today I heard someone say that they’ve been a Christian
for a long time but they just recently became a Jesus follower. I
thought that was a powerful statement. Maybe that’s what’s happening to
me………..

Actions

Information

One response

10 11 2007
Khalilah

I feel you on everything you said in this blog. Lately I have really been examining my walk with God and my belief system and I really feel like a lot that we do as Christians is a bunch of mess…some crap that we made up. I have often felt that living in this sub-culture of Christianity has hindered me on many levels: socially, intellectually, personally, professionally – the list goes on. God is so much bigger than the box we put Him, so much bigger than the thoughts we think of Him, so much bigger than the bible we carry, so much bigger than the church we go to, so much bigger than our cliches. I do not believe that God cares so much about a freaking tatoo, or my glass of wine, or my Common cd, or my off the shoulder shirt as he does about the homelessness and despair and poverty and abuse and all the other foul things that are going on right under our noses as we drive right past all of these things with our holier than thou prosperous sanctified bible thumping selves on our way to church to sing “Our God is an awesome God.” I pray that we as Christians get some understanding – a real revelation about what’s going on in the world and around us and how to really be the arms and hands of Jesus here in the earth.

Leave a Reply

