The History of High Heeled Oppression

13 11 2007

So I got a call from my friend Jamie today and he wants me to be a model in his friend’s fashion show. (Say whaaa??) They wanted someone tall, slim, and funky with an afro. So I guess I fit the bill. But there is one problem:

100_0120

I don’t have an afro right now.

But that can be easily fixed. My biggest dilemma right now is that I’m probably going to have to walk the runway with heels on and if you know anything about me you know that me and high heeled shoes DO NOT get along. As a matter of fact, this is my shoe closet:

100_0125_2While some women collect Manolos or other fancy shoes, I collect sneakers. I’m not really into name brands, but there’s nothing like a good, comfortable sneaker to match an outfit. Ummm…that really makes my day. I hate heels. As a matter of fact I think heels are oppressive. I was convinced that heels were invented by some man who wanted to make women look "hot" while punishing them at the same time. And you know what? I did some research and at least on half of my theory was right. Heels were invented by a man. But not to punish women though. They were made to help those guys who used to ride horses back in the 1500s keep their feet from slipping in the stirrups. Then eventually some woman thought they were cool and thought she’d have a pair made so she could have a cool outfit. Go figure.

So I’ve gotta figure out how I’m gonna work this runway thing. Hopefully I don’t pull a Carrie Bradshaw and fall flat on my face.

But who knows? After my blog yesterday about America’s Next Top Model, maybe this will be the start of a runway career for me? HA! Yeah right! I’ve never really had a desire to be a model. Although I do have a secret desire to be a hand model ‘cuz I think I have great fingers. Don’t you agree? 🙂

100_0122_2

100_0123_2

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 11 2007
SIS

Hey dude-
You are really getting down with your new camera. I see you were watching Salt -n- Pepa. (thoughts comments) Talk to ya later.

13 11 2007
Avril

It was on but I wasn’t really paying attention to it. I’ll have to catch the reruns.

Leave a Reply

