The Miracle I’m Most Thankful For

22 11 2007

In a few hours I’ll be spending another Thanksgiving with my wonderful family. What’s really cool is that this year I don’t have to travel very far to be with my family. All I have to do is drive right on over to Stockbridge and I can experience my mom’s good cooking. It sure beats having to book a flight to NJ!

So as I get ready for a fun day of laughter, fellowship and good food with my family, I had to take a minute this morning and reflect on the #1 thing that I am thankful for. Today I am most thankful for GOD and the impact that He has had on my life. I’m thankful that He took away my sins because Psalm 103:11-12 (CEV) says:

How great is God’s love for all who worship him? Greater than the distance between heaven and earth! How far has the Lord taken our sins from us? Farther than the distance from east to west!

I’m thankful that God loves me even though my righteousness is as filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6). And I’m thankful that He took away the chains in my life and replaced it with sheer joy and contentment in Him:

Praise the Lord and pray in his name! Tell everyone what he has done. Sing praises to the Lord! Tell about his miracles. Celebrate and worship his holy name with all your heart. (Psalm 105:1-3, CEV).

Tell about his miracles? I am a miracle. If you’ve known me for any length of time you might know that I’m a miracle. After nearly losing my life as a baby, and nearly taking my life as a young adult, it’s only through His grace that I’m here today. The smiley, bubbly personality and fabulousness that you see now 😉 is only a result of Christ in my life. And that’s what makes me desperate for Him and for that I will be eternally grateful…What miracle are you thankful for?

  O God, you are my God,
       earnestly I seek you;
       my soul thirsts for you,
       my body longs for you,
       in a dry and weary land
       where there is no water.

I have seen you in the sanctuary
       and beheld your power and your glory.

Because your love is better than life,
       my lips will glorify you.

I will praise you as long as I live,
       and in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods;
       with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

On my bed I remember you;
       I think of you through the watches of the night.

Because you are my help,
       I sing in the shadow of your wings.

My soul clings to you;
       your right hand upholds me…

Psalm 63:1-8 (NKJV)

Actions

Information

One response

22 11 2007
Angela

My thankfulness kind of piggy-backs on yours. I’m grateful for self-acceptance and self-love that is a true gift from God and only comes from spending time in His presence. What a journey this life is turning out to be. It’s much more difficult than I anticipated. From the perils of my childhood through the social trials of adolescence to the gigantic mistake that was my 20s, I finally feel as though “me” is something pretty great in Him. I better quit before I morph into a Whitney Houston song . . .

Leave a Reply

