I Gotta Say It Was a Good Day

2 12 2007

I’m four hours away from having been awake for 24 hours straight. I’ve been up since 7 AM and it is now 3:07 AM. It’s been a long day. But I gotta say it’s been a good one. It started off with my small group, we went and volunteered at My Sister’s House at Atlanta Union Mission. We helped spread a little Christmas cheer to the residents by decorating some Christmas trees. Here’s some pictures of us decorating the tree in one of the playrooms:

100_0227100_0233

100_0232

We were pretty excited about our handiwork and went to work on decorating the dining hall next….

100_0237
100_0239_2


100_0240100_0241

After decorating, the volunteer coordinator at My Sister’s House took us on a tour of the shelter so we got  a chance to see how they operate there. I think I want to volunteer more often. I’ll have to look into some ways that I can help out there. After volunteering, we walked around the corner to Six Feet Under and ate.

Once we all split ways, I head out to do a little shopping. I finally found an inexpensive quilt for my bed. I also got some sheets to match my blue, brown and beige theme. The sheets are actually Jersey Knit. I thought it’d be cool to have knit sheets, and probably very cozy too. So I can’t wait to go to bed tonight to see how they feel…When I got home I made my bed with my new quilt and sheets and slightly altered the look and feel of my room. While I was out I also found some Bubble Gum flavored candy canes…you know I couldn’t resist those. So when I came home I also decided to put up my bootleg Christmas tree, complete with the pink bubble gum candy canes. I had to be careful putting them on because my tree is so flimsy that it kept shaking everytime I put a cane on there…

100_0264
100_0263

Then lastly it was my friend Liza’s birthday and we had a night out that started with Korean BBQ. It was soooo good!!!  I didn’t think to get pictures of the food until it was too late but here’s pictures of our empty plates…

100_0244
100_0245

100_0246

They cook the food right on the table and give you a bunch of sides with your meal including rice and lettuce so that you can make lettuce wraps. It was so good.

100_0242

There’s Thirza, the queen of sake.

100_0247

This girl is really cool because she is from Australia. Her name escapes me right now but just know that she is really cool.

What we did after that was the highlight of my day…You know what we did???? WE DID KARAOKE!!!!! Yes, I finally got my karaoke on! It was great even though everybody didn’t get into it. When will people realize that what makes karaoke fun is when you CAN’T sing. Otherwise, it’s just a concert. So yeah, some people got squeamish about singing. But that didn’t stop some of us…

100_0258
100_0259

100_0260

I love going to karaoke with my friend Keith because he goes all out…Yes, that’s him standing on the table.
All he needs is a little Hoobastank and it’s all over…

100_0255

Can you guess what song this line is from?

100_0262

That’s Liza, the birthday girl. She rocks.

Like I said, it was a long day. But it sure was good. So good I feel like I could go for another round of karaoke right now. But I know once I hit those new knit sheets I’ll probably be out like a light. So on that note I’m signing off until next time…Peeeeaaaace…

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 12 2007
SIS

Well,I’m glad you finally got to Karaoke.. Next time Chase and I are going to hang with you..since people at birthday parties don’t dance anymore. He and I did the Cupid Shuffle together. Korean BBQ sounds good.. Did you go to the new Six Feet Under location?

2 12 2007
SIS

Oh My Goodness!! Which song was Keith rockin the house on?? And no, I can’t think what song those lyrics are from. Help me out..

2 12 2007
Avril

He always rocks out to Crawling in the Dark by Hoobastank. As for the song lyrics, here’s a hint–“Well, wouldn’t it be nice if I could touch your body. I know not everybody has got a body like you…”

4 12 2007
Jessica

Can someone say George Michael? Since I knew the answer does that merit me an invite for next time?

4 12 2007
Avril

But of course! 🙂

Leave a Reply

