Trouble Sleeping

10 12 2007

Have you ever had one of those nights where you just can’t get a good sleep on? I’m having one of those moments right now. I went to sleep at midnight and then got up again at 2:22 AM. I was up for awhile and then laid down again and now it’s 4:43 AM and I cannot sleep. I am wide awake. So since there’s no one up at this hour for me to talk to, I figured I’d come blog. ‘Cuz that’s what I do. I blog.

I’ve actually had trouble sleeping for the past couple of days. I think I have too much on my mind. You know, I realized the other day that I have way too much stuff on my mind. So much so that sometimes when people ask me what’s going on in my life, I forget about things that are important. Like how I completely forgot that in two days I will actually find out whether or not I’ll have a job come 2008. The SACS Board will deliver the decision on Tuesday as to whether or not our school will be taken off probation. I’ve been pretty convinced that we’ll get off so I had put the whole thing completely out of my mind. But then tonight I remembered and for a brief moment I got a little worried. So Tuesday will either be a very good day or a very bad day…

About my creative indecision, I think I’ve made a decision that I want to do another movie, not a play. After all, I’m a filmmaker so that’s what I do. I make films, not plays. Maybe one day I’ll do a play, but right now I wanna make another movie. I think I’ll do a short while I try to raise money for my feature, Something Worth Waiting For. I’ve got a couple of ideas and one of them is slowly starting to keep recurring in my mind so maybe this week I’ll start toying around with that script.

Speaking of this week only 3 more days and classes will be over!!! Then Friday afternoon my vacation starts!! YIPPEEE!! I cannot wait. I always need a reality check on Sundays because I forget that I have to prepare for class the next day. But fortunately since it’s the last week I don’t have to do too much, although I do have to make up 2 final exams so that’s gonna be a pain.

But this job really is the perfect job for me for many reasons. Since I have a tendency to get bored with most jobs after 6-8 months, it works for me that every 11 weeks, my schedule changes and I get assigned new classes and new students. And since I HATE getting up early in the morning, it works for me that none of my classes start before 1:30 PM. And since I often start to feel anxious about feeling trapped sitting in a office all day, it works for me that normally I’m not in the office, I’m in the classroom teaching. Plus, I usually have at least one day off every week, sometimes more. And since I like to stay abreast of the industry, it works that as  a film instructor I get to order film textbooks for free so I can increase my knowledge base. And since I’m a filmmaker it works for me that I get to be around some really creative students that challenge me and inspire me to do my best and continue to reach. As much as I complain about my students, I think a good number of them really do want to succeed, they just don’t know how. And for the most part, it’s not their fault that the education system in this country has failed them. I could write a whole separate blog on that one–ooh don’t get me started!!! For another time, for another time…

Well, I guess I’ll make an attempt to go back to bed now. Good thing I don’t have to be to work until 12:30 pm. I know, don’t you hate me right now………. 🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 12 2007
AP

that is crazy. I was up at the exact same time. Couldn’t sleep much either.
oh and i do hate you by the way

10 12 2007
Avril

wow. weird, huh?

Leave a Reply

