Visual Freakin’ Vomit!!

16 12 2007

So today proved to be yet another example of why I go to the greatest church in the world! Today’s service was freakin’ awesome! Things started off with a BANG with a ROCKED OUT version of "The Little Drummer Boy." It was great to be back on roaming camera so I got a chance to move around a bit. But then in the middle of the song the guy singing lead leaves the microphone and goes to the back of the stage where they’ve pulled out not one but TWO drum sets. He gets on the other pair of drums and he and the other drummer proceed to have a "dueling drums" session where they’re just beating the mess out of the song.

Then a pause.

THEN about six or so guys with GARBAGE CANS and STICKS come running down the aisle to the front and start WAILING and BANGING THE MESS out the cans in true form just like the musical STOMP. It was freakin’ amazing. Then they go running up the steps to the stage and it’s just all these guys banging on drums on stage as they finish out the song. Did I say it was freakin’ amazing?? Oh, ok I’ll say it again. It was FREAKIN’ amazing. It was a lot of fun to shoot too! 

Then the actual service began with announcements and the worship set which was amazing too. Then we got ready for the message, which started off with a testimony by a woman named Meghan Coffee. We’re still in the "It’s Personal" series on having a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Her story of life began with the death of her mother. It was a powerful story, which was followed by a powerful sermon. Andy came from John 9, which talks about the blind man who received his sight. I love that story because I can just imagine the people asking this guy all these questions about who did it and how and why and him just being like "I ‘un know ’bout all that. All I know is I was blind and now I see." To me that’s such an example of how we have to be with our faith. There are so many things I just don’t understand the how and definitely not the why. And all I can say is "I ‘un know ’bout all that. All I know is that I was blind and now I see." I’m proof enough of the goodness of God regardless of the things I don’t understand.

Anyways, after the sermon, Meghan actually came out and sang a POWERFUL song about a loving God. The song was really amazing. It was very emotional at the 9:00 service. People were crying and there was a standing ovation.

Just like last night’s Super Date, today’s service was a little hard to put into words because it was so great. But I heard lots of people talking about it as I stood outside in the lobby in between services. Some were talking about the drums and some were talking about Meghan and some were talking about the message. But all in all, people were talking about Jesus.

Buckhead Church has done it again. And again I’m just so thankful to be a part of it.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 12 2007
joe

Indeed…Sunday was AMAZING! I’m so glad I got to be a part of it as well–Meghan’s story had me in chills, the message was powerful, and the drummer boy set was CRAZY. Great job on camera by the way. It was nice to meet you in person!

20 12 2007
Avril

Likewise! It’s always good to put a face with the name! 🙂

Leave a Reply

