Car Negligents

17 12 2007

So I had to take my car to the shop today. Nothing too major. I just needed some new tires. But I hate going to the car shop. Why you ask? First of all, it never ceases to amaze me how you can go to a car shop for one little repair and then you leave feeling like you’re the scum of the earth. I’ll give you an example…

I go to Kauffman Tire and tell them that I need to have one of my tires replaced. He asks me what size is the tire. Darnit. That is something that I should know, isn’t it? I know it’s bad but my idea of car care is making sure my radio plays loud enough to drown out any funny noises the car may be making. So going to the car shop is always a reminder to me that I have no clue regarding anything about my car outside of the make and model and the fact that it has a single CD player, twelve FM station presets and six AM station presets.

But the guy at Kauffman Tire was very nice. He went outside with me and took a look at my tires and recommended two tires that would match my two good ones. And both tires were well within my price range. Cool. He tells me to have a seat in the waiting room for about an hour.

I’m sitting there for maybe 15-20 minutes and then the mechanic comes out, and herein lies the bulk of why I hate going to car shops. Anytime your car has only been in the garage for 15 minutes or less and one of the mechanics comes into the waiting area and calls your name, it can’t be good. So I see him approach the door and my heart starts to pound. Sure enough he calls my name "Ms. Speaks!" I raise my hand and he comes over and tells me that my axle something or other needs to be fixed and it’s going to cost $15,791.25. (I’m exaggerating. I don’t remember the exact cost but it was waaayy outside of what I had budgeted to pay for car repairs today). So I just look at the guy and I guess he got the hint because he just said "Well, you don’t have to do it today but just make sure you get it done as soon as possible." I said ok and he left and proceeded to do the job that I came in there for. He came out a couple more times to other customers and they pretty much had the same conversation. After he left I felt like such a loser for being a car negligent. As I looked around the waiting area I wondered if anyone else has ever felt like an idiot for being a car negligent. And for the fact that we can’t just pull thousands of dollars out of our behinds on a whim to get axles fixed when we hadn’t planned on that. And don’t let them call you out on your negligence. Like announcing before everyone in the waiting area that it’s been like 10 years since your last service. Plus, I just always feel like mechanics are trying to weasel extra money out of me because I’m a woman.

Aw well, I got my tires fixed and that’s what counts. Maybe I"ll make that one of my New Years resolutions to be less car negligent when it comes to repairs. But who am I kidding? After all, that’s what 18 radio stations are for…:-\

I know, sad, sad, sad…………

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

