Merry CHRISTMAS Darnit!

20 12 2007

Not happy holidays, not season’s greetings. Merry Christmas everybody!

All this Christmas controversy is something else. I never thought I’d see the day when what’s supposed to be a happy time of year would cause so much division and confusion. All these years everybody’s been saying Merry Christmas whether they were Christian or not. I don’t even think anybody gave it a second thought. Now we have to be so careful about how we greet people over the holidays. When I was a kid, I used to love the idea of leaving milk and cookies for Santa. Now we no longer want to tell kids about Santa because he’s fake. Well neither is Dora the Explorer but we still let kids play with her and take them to go see her ice shows. Get over it people! I have this theory that I’ll have to share another time that when we give up Santa Claus we give up the beauty of imagination.

More on that later but in the meantime, I’m so excited–only one more day until Roz and Tony and the kids get here. I only get to see them once a year during Christmas so it’s always cool to have the whole family together. They’ll be here for a week and it’ll be our first Christmas with everyone here in Atlanta. My Aunt Bessie officially moves down here this weekend so we’re up for some fun times. Stay tuned for some wacky updates on the blog about my family ‘cuz when all the Speaks get together, we’re always bound for some crazy times!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

