Carnivorous Abomination??

9 01 2008

I’m making it a point to read the Bible from the very beginning. This is not a new year’s resolution per se, I just happened to start doing this at the new year. And no, I’m not doing the Bible in a year. I’m going at my own pace. I’m reading for quality, not quantity. So if that means I only read two verses today then so be it.

I just finished my daily morning ritual of watching The View and Montel Williams was on there talking about his new book where he talks about living healthy. Montel was diagnosed with MS some time ago, and he was saying that he was on anti-depressants and had lots of pain in his legs because of the MS. That is until he got himself on a regiment of eating healthy. He was saying he went back to the old school and just started putting more fruits and vegetables into his system and he has not been depressed and he doesn’t have half the pain he used to have in his legs.

His interview reminded me of something I read the other day in Genesis. At the end of chapter 1 where it talks about how God made all this stuff, God tells Adam "I have provided all kinds of fruit and grain for you to eat. And I have given the green plants as food for everything else that breathes. These will be food for animals, both wild and tame, and for birds. God looked at what he had done. All of it was very good!" (Genesis 1:29-31).

When I read that the other morning it just made me wonder–so when did carnivores come about? Like it seems like men and the animals were supposed to eat only fruits and vegetables. So when did man starting eating animals and when did animals start eating other animals. I wonder if us eating each other is yet another consequence of the fall. And the consequences of us eating each other are catching up with us since over the centuries the numbers of deadly diseases have increased. I’m not a vegetarian or anything, but I have cut certain things out of my diet and I do notice that on those rare occasions when I do revert and eat things like beef, pork, or excessive dairy, my body responds very negatively. I think a lot of us are like that because we were not created to put all that stuff in our bodies.   

Which makes me think about another theory I’ve thought about. After watching 28 Days Later and recently I Am Legend, sometimes I wonder if infectious diseases are part of the apocalypse? Like I wonder if we’re waiting for this big catastrohic moment when in actuality our society is slowly being killed off by disease and global warming so that in a few years there will be no more human beings left and then will come the new heaven and the new earth.

Sorry for the morbid post so early in the day. But it was just a thought. Seriously though, I think eating from the wrong tree has affected us way more than we even think…

Actions

Information

5 responses

9 01 2008
Jam

Later on in the New Testament Paul has that dream of the net. He basically says we can eat all kinds of stuff. Man has been eating meat for a long, long time. We were hunters and gatherers for quite a while.
Generally dairy can be bad if you overdo it. I don’t like to eat pork b/c pigs are unclean animals. Meaning, a pig will eat another pig, even its own young.
Cows have an extensive digestive system which makes them cleaner. Make sure they’re pasture fed!

9 01 2008
Avril

Totally, and even as early as Genesis people were already killing and eating meat. One of the greatest thing about Jesus is that he did away with the law and we do have the freedom to eat whatever we want. But like Paul says all things are permissible but not all things are edifying. Don’t get me wrong, I ain’t giving up my chicken! 🙂
But my question is more on the lines of when God first created the body of human beings, it doesn’t seem like he created our bodies with the intention to consume animals. And I just wonder if because of the fall we just became no holds barred and just decided to eat whatever and as a result throughout thousands of thousands of years we’ve got all kinds of diseases and malfunctions in the body because of it.
On the same token, he created us with little things like gall bladders so that our bodies could process fried stuff. It’s almost as if he created us to consume only plants but in the back of his mind he knew we would screw that up so he created gall bladders to help us out anyway. Just like how he created us to love him but he knew we’d screw that up too so he had a back up plan to send Jesus and save us from sin. Just a thought…

10 01 2008
Angela

Yeah, wasn’t it after the flood when God told Noah to eat animals? I have no proof or even a real reason to believe so, but I think it’s because the climate had changed and could no longer support some of the plants we needed to eat for protein and the next best thing was meat. But the idea of consuming a dead thing is pretty powerful on a number of levels. It really can gross you out pretty badly when you think about it.

10 01 2008
Avril

Aah…now we’re on to something. That’s interesting and that’s what I was curious about–when did we start eating meat according to the Bible. So it’ll be interesting to see if what you said comes up once I get to the story of Noah.

12 01 2008
Jessica

When mom was in Mexico for treatment we actually talked about this subject and even studied that bible passage. Check out http://www.ravediet.com
If your interested I have a copy of the DVD which talks about the consequences of our SAD (standard American diet).

Leave a Reply

