A Beautiful Day to Be a Scrub

27 01 2008

Today is a fantastically gorgeous day! The sun is shining, the sky is awesome blue. Days like this make me giddy.

I just came back from church. A couple weeks ago an email was sent asking leaders and members of Buckhead Church to start coming to the 9 or 6:00 service. It’s been standing room only at the 11 the past few weeks, so they figured this might free up some empty seats. I wanted so bad to be obedient that I set my alarm for 7:00 am so that I could make it to the 9:00 service. Well, I should have known it wasn’t a good sign when I woke up at 6:45 am and actually reset the alarm to go off at 7:45 instead. What a scrub.

When 7:45 came I guess I must have hit the snooze alarm way too many times because before I knew it it was 9:15 am and the alarm had just stopped going off altogether. Aw well. I started to just say forget it, I won’t go at all since I knew I wouldn’t be able to go to the 6:00 service today. But I decided to get up and go to the 11:00 after all.

I came outside to see the most beautiful sunshine and the most beautiful blue sky. I got in the car and cranked up some "Sledgehammer" on my ’80’s CD and it felt like a great start to a great day. I got to church and slipped in the last seat in the balcony. By the time service started, there were plenty of seats available. But by the time worship was over I looked up and realized that there were people standing along the wall. So I gave up my seat and figured I’d go stand around somewhere in the lobby. I started in the lobby and ended up going downstairs to the office where I got a chance to see my friend Joann Burns at the front desk. I used to volunteer with her when we were back at the grocery store so it was really good to see her again. And then while I was in there my friend Kelli came in so I just had a good ‘ole time. Unfortunately all this took place while service was going on so I guess I was a scrub again.

But I guess here’s one of the things that I love and hate about Buckhead Church. I love the mission of BC, and I love that we are very focused on our mission of leading unchurched people into a relationship with Christ. And part of that means giving sermons that are so simple that even a child can understand them. Andy does a GREAT job at this. His sermons are so simple and easy to grasp, and I think that’s why people keep coming back. The downside of that is that after you’ve been going there for awhile, the messages start to become a little repetitious. When I came back upstairs I heard the last 5 minutes of Andy’s sermon and thought to myself, "Oh, yeah, this is the one where he tells us how we should invite people to church."

But when that happens that’s when I know I may need to re-evaluate how I am serving there. I remember Andy once saying that he would get criticism from people who asked him why he never did "the deeper teachings." And his response was that he’ll do the "deeper teachings" whenever we learn to do the simple teachings. I love that because sometimes it’s easy for "seasoned" Christians to come to church and want to hear something deep and spiritual, but how well are we doing at the simple stuff like loving people, forgiving people, walking in righteousness, peace and joy?

So I think it may be time for me to think about what I am doing to help further the mission at BC. How am I helping to lead people into a growing relationship with Jesus Christ? I know when I first joined the church a couple years ago I wanted to lead a Starting Point group. Maybe I should go back to exploring that? We’ll see.

At any rate, after I left church today I felt like a bit of scrub because I was there the whole time but I missed the sermon, and as I was driving home I took the long way so that I could bask in the sun longer. I was supposed to go do laundry after church but it’s too pretty outside to do laundry, so maybe I’ll just go buy some new underwear…Instead of laundry I think I’d rather–come inside, sit by an open window and blog??

Yeah, what a scrub…

Actions

Information

One response

29 01 2008
SIS

It’s so interesting that you mentioned this.. You hit the nail on the head. This is where I am at,WCCI. Pastor Dollar says the same thing. He will keep preaching “the steps” until we can “prosper” in those things. And yes they are the simple things, love, serve,and forgive. When we can master these things that’s when the manifestation comes. I need to get back to the mission at hand and serve.
THANKS SIS!!

Leave a Reply

