English Yoga

8 02 2008

Yoga
Went to yoga class today. I like yoga alot. It’s really good for my bad back. I just wish that someone would publish an english guide to yoga because half the time when I’m there I have no idea what they’re talking about. Chakras and salutations and tidasinas–All the different names for the various positions make me feel out of the loop. It can get very frustrating. So today I just pretty much tuned the words of the instructor out and just did whatever she did.  It’s also frustrating when I can’t do the same poses like everyone else. But they say that’s normal when you first start out and that you should only do what your body allows so that’s cool.

I’ll admit that I do feel a little weird doing yoga sometimes because people at my church back home used to frown on it because of its Buddhist roots. But I found out that while historically yoga is a spiritual practice that stems from Buddhism, most Westerners who do yoga use it strictly as an exercise/fitness regimen and tend to separate it from their spirituality. A couple weeks ago Khalilah let me borrow her Holy Yoga DVD and something about that just doesn’t sound right either. Either way, what can be so bad about getting some relaxation and staying healthy using nothing but the body God gave you? In the meantime I guess I’ll just continue to copy what the teacher’s doing and find my own chakra that connects me to ma Jesus.    

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 02 2008
sexkitten

I love yoga. I’ve been doing it for years. It relaxes me like nothing else. Stay with it. It gets easier.

9 02 2008
Angela

I really like it too. And the relaxation comes from the deep breathing, not anything spooky spiritual. You just have to pay attention to who your teacher is and what their main intentions are. 9 times out of 10 it’s perfectly fine.

Leave a Reply

