The Weekend Lowdown

24 02 2008

What’s up Convergence readers!!

I know it’s been a few days since I’ve blogged. It’s been a busy weekend. So I’ll make this one worth your time by giving you the sped-up blow by blow of what’s been going on while the Oscars are on commercial break…

Well, my weekend started off with this:

100_0560

That’s my foot with a small drop of blood just above my heel. I was in the kitchen making cookies when all of a sudden it started feeling painful to walk.

I wasn’t sure what it was until I touched it and realized that my fingers were all scratched up. That’s when I realized I had a piece of glass stuck in my foot. It looked tiny and fairly easy to pull out, and realized that I"m a big wimp. I did a lot of crying and wimpering and then Khalilah had to end up taking over.

100_0558

She started out with a regular pair of tweezers but it was in there too deep and so she had to resort to this. She called it a Snagnabit. It looked pretty scary. I hollered very loudly until I just had to beat my chest a couple of times and tell myself to "Woman Up!!"

100_0573

So eventually she was able to pull it out. I know you can’t tell from the picture but it was a pretty long piece of glass–well at least longer than I initially thought it was. But I guess all in all it wasn’t too bad, but bad enough to produce all this in my kitchen:

100_0571 100_0570

Okay but enough about my foot…

Later that night me, Khalilah, Shari and my cousin Janice who was visiting from Philly went to Taboo 2 – a "Grown Folks" club up in Buckhead. It was fun. I’d definitely go back. They played lots of old school music which I loved. I think I did see a little more grown folks’ jiggling flesh than I care to remember, but overall we had a good time.

100_0592

I tried to get a picture of Shari and Khalilah getting their groove on the dancefloor but I failed because I was too busy dancing myself.

100_0587

But here is a picture of me and Shari singing some song…

100_0586
100_0588

100_0602_2
100_0601

You know "Grown Folks" can’t have no kind of party without doing some kind of Electric Slide. I think this was the Cha Cha slide.

I realized that night that I’m a "grown folk" who doesn’t like to stay out all night at the club like I used to. By midnight I was ready to come home. Anyways so Saturday I spent most of the day with Jon. Me and Khalilah were supposed to go to a step show that night but we ended up not going.

Fast forward to this morning. I met with my prayer triad at the Radial Cafe, where I had this:

100_0606

The picture doesn’t really do it justice but that was Blueberry Streusel French Toast. It was FREAKING AMAZING. It might look sickening in the picture, but it actually wasn’t too sweet at all. It’s nice and light and fluffy and it was SOOOOOO good. I ordered an omlette but once I took a bite of my friend Modupe’s french toast I was left speechless and had to order one for myself. If you like french toast, you owe it to yourself to go to the Radial Cafe and go have this delectable breakfast treat. It will keep you singing for the rest of the day.

Later in the afternoon I went to visit the King Center with Shari and Aunt Bessie. We got there about 20 minutes before they were about to close so we really didn’t get a chance to see a whole lot. Every single time I go over there I think I learn or discover something new. Today I was just amazed at how so many black people were able to mobilize and come together for a worthy cause. And they didn’t have half of the technology that we have now in order to communicate with each other. So why is it that now in 2008 we have such a hard time getting black folks to get together to take a stand against issues for a sustained period of time. We’ll come together for a Million Man March or something like that but after it’s over, we don’t even look back. I wish I could see the visual transformation of the black community from the 1960s until now. How did we get to this point where so many black neighborhoods are ridden with drugs and homelessness and despair? Some say it was integration. Some say it was the loss of prayer in schools. Some say it was drugs. Some say it was the government. I’m sure it was probably a combination of all those things, but whatever it was I wonder if things will ever change. Will we ever get back to the way things used to be? We all know that 43 years ago Martin Luther King had a dream. I read a quote from Dr. King today about how he had the audacity to believe that every citizen in this country should have 3 meals a day and the right to shelter and a decent, equal living. His quote reminded me of Barak Obama’s book "The Audacity of Hope." Could it be fate that 40 years after King’s death we finally have a chance at hope, a chance to have the first black president, a president who maybe actually believes in King’s words? Hmmm…only time will tell. But the way things are looking, it could happen……..

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

