Rat-a-Tat-Tat!

29 02 2008

100_0618
Hey everybody! Make sure you go check out Ragamuffin Soul today. Fellow Buckhead-ite Carlos Whittaker started a blog post yesterday asking for all his readers to send in pics of their tattoos for a Celebration of Tats, if you will. My vine should be somewhere in the mix.

People often ask me what prompted me to get a tattoo–especially one on my foot. Well, basically I’ve been wanting a tattoo for awhile now, and last year on my birthday I just decided to do something daring and just go for it. Sadly, I admit that during one time in my life I drank the Kool-Aid that people with tattoos were horrible people headed straight for eternal damnation in the pit of hell. But once I did a little reading up on it I discovered that many people get tattoos because it’s body art. Most people get tattoos because the artwork holds some kind of special meaning in their lives.

So what’s the special meaning behind the vine on my foot? Well, er, uh. I could be deep and spiritual and say that it’s to represent how Jesus is the vine and I am the branch, and his banner over me is love….but that’s not really how it went down. I really wanted to get a broken chain to symbolize the freedom that I’ve experienced (on so many levels–spiritual, emotional, relational, physical–I could go on…) since I’ve moved to ATL. But I couldn’t figure out where to put it. The obvious place would be on the arm, but my arms already look like guard rails and I was afraid I might look ghetto putting a chain on a rail. I always thought it would be cool to have a tattoo on my foot but it wouldn’t make much sense to have a chain on a foot so I just kinda went with a design that would look cool on my foot until I figured out where I wanted to put the broken chain. And that cool design just happened to be a vine. So yeah, my first tattoo doesn’t really have that much special significance for me right now. But it looks cool though. 🙂 Hopefully I can make up my mind where to put my broken chain sometime soon. Any suggestions?

(…And no, it didn’t hurt as much as I thought it would…)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

