How I’m Wired

18 03 2008

Ok, so maybe I was being a little too hard on myself in yesterday’s post. My friend Angela’s comment on that post actually helped me to remember that all of us are wired differently and that doesn’t make one more valid or better than the other. I believe that I am more of a visionary, although I can be a fascilitator when I need to be. I usually see the big picture but I fall short on the details…I found a couple of things online this morning that kinda drove this point home:

This book called When God Builds a Church talks about the difference between visionaries and administrators and why they’re both necessary in the context of the church, but it think it applies to life as well.

And then I took this quiz about leadership styles and realized that I have a Participative Leadership style. I’m not one to go around barking orders at people. I like for everyone in the group to take part in making decisions. This is what the website says about Participative Leadership:

Participative Leadership

Participative
leaders accept input from one or more group members when making
decisions and solving problems, but the leader retains the final say
when choices are made. Group members tend to be encouraged and
motivated by this style of leadership. This style of leadership often
leads to more effective and accurate decisions, since no leader can be
an expert in all areas. Input from group members with specialized
knowledge and expertise creates a more complete basis for
decision-making.

It’s weird because when it comes to being an AD, practically every film I’ve ever AD’ed we’ve always made our day and always gotten the footage we needed. However, my leadership style is very different than most ADs. I think most ADs are known for their Authoritative leadership styles and that’s usually thought to be more effective. But I guess it is possible to be just as effective with a different leadership style.

I can see my leadership style in everything I do–in how I lead my small group and even how I teach my classes. Often I see myself trying to conform to other styles or other people’s ways of doing things, and it just never works out. I still need to work on accepting myself for who God made ME to be as a leader…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

