What Creativity Is All About

28 03 2008

I’m in Texas this weekend visiting my sister and family in Rowlett, a small town not too far from Dallas. We’re all here because my 9 year old nephew, Isaiah, is getting baptized this weekend. Isn’t that amazing? He actually made the decision for himself that he wanted to be saved a few months ago. He’s gone through all his discipleship classes at his church and now he is going to be baptized to publicly proclaim his faith in Jesus Christ. At 9 years old! I just think it’s great that at such a young age he’s been educated about what it means to be a follower of Christ, because I didn’t get the fullness of that information until I was well into college, even though I grew up in church all my life. I pray that he will stay with God even as he gets older and that he doesn’t go astray…

Church sure has changed since I was a kid. I see my nephew actually share scriptures and ideas and concepts that he’s learned in church. Maybe I was just a dunce everytime I went to Sunday School, but I’d like to think that churches now are a little more aware of how people, including children, learn and retain information. And I thank God for a new generation of people that are willing to be bold, to be daring and to be different in that effort. People that aren’t afraid to try new things in order to reach the hearts of people.

I was just having a conversation with my brother-in-law, Tony. He’s in school at Dallas Theological Seminary and he was sharing with me some of his notes from one of his Expository Teaching classes. We were talking about the need for creative planning with others and how it is possible to reach people with a clear, consise message without being long-winded.  After our  discussion I came downstairs and checked my email to find this posted on the Ragamuffin Soul blog. It’s the edited video of our Good Friday service at Buckhead Church. The entire service was about an hour long, but our video director, Josh Peters, edited it down to about 17 minutes. After the service was done, we all sat there in utter silence and I could hear sniffling all over the building. When you watch it you’ll see why. This is a perfect example of a new generation doing church differently, and a perfect example of creative planning gone well. It is things like this that make me love Buckhead Church and make me feel blessed to be part of what God is doing in Atlanta and across the world and, in a round about way, in children like my nephew. 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

