The Key to Effective Teaching

15 04 2008

I think I’ve discovered the key to teaching my students — Stop Talking.

This quarter I decided to have my students do presentations each week and have them do the research to present the information rather than making them listen to me lecture. It’s turned out to be great! We had four presentations today in my History of International Cinema class. The students did an AMAZING job. They brought in slide shows and clips. One student brought in actual German DVDs while another student actually made a short film demonstrating some of the techniques of German expressionism and film noir. How creative. Hopefully they’ll retain this information much better now hearing it from their peers. I guess we’ll see next week when it’s time for the Midterm…

Actions

Information

One response

16 04 2008
Sis

How creative!! Yeah, I think our youth today drown us out as we speak. blah blah blah blah!!
Sound familiar…(smile) Keep us posted on the midterm.

Leave a Reply

