This Is What Church Means to Me

20 04 2008

100_0755

Just came back from breakfast at the Silver Skillet with these two ladies, Donna and Modupe, for our weekly prayer triad. Food was great but even greater was being able to be open and honest and real about what’s going on in our lives. I think one of the greatest things I’ve learned from these ladies is that it’s ok to be myself, even when I’m being ridiculous. If you’re wondering what they’re doing in this picture, they’re mocking my ridiculous-ness, but I’ll save that story for another time… 🙂

My small group ends in two weeks but our triad will continue to meet. So fortunately I’ll still have these girls to hold me accountable and vice versa. We have invited each other into our lives. We know the stories. And to me, that has become what I treasure most about God, church, and Christianity (outside of Christ’s death and resurrection of course). The fact that we can live in community with one another and pray through the ups, the downs and the in-betweens right in the middle of the Silver Skillet. Corporate worship is great, yes. I LOVE praise and worship. But sometimes I’ve gotten more out of doing life with my sisters–and not just my prayer triad but all the girls in my group–than I have from sitting in a pew. I’ve learned that church and being a Christian goes beyond hearing a good song and a good sermon.  Faith is more than just words, it is LIFE. 

Actions

Information

One response

20 04 2008
Angela

That’s awesome! This is the true stuff of life! So cool . . .

Leave a Reply

