2nd Impressions

7 05 2008

So much has happened since the last time I blogged. I can’t keep up with it all. For starters, Khalilah and I took a second visit to Calibre Woods and came to the conclusion that it wasn’t all we made it out to be. Our second impression was that the place looked like a run-down campground and the apartment itself looked a bit smaller than we remembered. So we decided to hold back on that place and keep looking. So we went out this week and found another place that we’re actually much more interested. It’s called AMLI at West Paces. It doesn’t have all the amenities like the other place like personal trainers and cooking classes, but they do have a very nice fitness center and it’s much cheaper. We even paid the place a second visit and we still like it so I think that is going to be the one.

Speaking of 2nd impressions, I just came back from my Level 2 improv class. I really don’t think I’m going to take another improv class. I realized today that the class we had a couple of weeks ago was probably the best class I’ve ever had because I didn’t feel the pressure to try and be funny. Instead I felt free to tell a story and to build a character and that made it fun. Needless to say, I don’t think I’ll be taking level 3.

Monday was the last official day of small group. I was fine until I had to say the closing prayer, and then I cried a little bit. The good thing is that we’re still going to meet once a month for some social time, so it’s not like I’ll never see them again. So that’s good news. I got an email from my friend LaToya yesterday that she’s looking to start a Bible Study at her house. How’s that for timing? So I think I’m going to check that out next Tuesday and see how that goes.

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 05 2008
Angela

So how do you think that improv classes may have helped with directing? Or do you think they did?

9 05 2008
Avril

Actually it didn’t help so much with directing but I think it is helping me a little with my storytelling. It’s teaching me a lot about building strong, vivid characters and about building a story based on what happens next. It’s weird because I always thought improv was about being funny and telling good jokes and punchlines, but actually it’s really about telling good stories.

14 05 2008
Khalilah

Keep going with the improv. Dont give up.

Leave a Reply

