I’m So Glad My Nephew Is Not a Robot

23 05 2008

Last year my nephew graduated from pre-K. During the ceremony each kid had to go to the microphone and say what they wanted to be when they grew up. And all the cute little kids would get up and say the usual things like "I wanna be a doctor," "I wanna be a policeman," "I wanna be a fireman." But not my nephew. He never follows the crowd. He got up and said "I wanna be Spiderman." Yep. That's so like my nephew. The funny thing was that my mom swore that he said he wanted to be a fireman, when my nephew promptly corrected her and said "No, grandma, I said I wanna be Spiderman," and proceeded to shoot imaginary webs out of his fingernails. My mother was heart-broken. I guess in her mind Spiderman wasn't as respectable a career as a fireman. My theory was hey, I bet Toby Macguire made far more money as Spiderman than any fireman.

So today he graduated from kindergarten. My aunt told me that in the car Chase was rehearsing his "When I Grow Up" speech and this time he said he wanted to be a policeman. Her response was "No, you want to be president of the United States." And while I think it'd be great if my nephew grew up to be president, I was secretly hoping that he would say something else like Spiderman or something that would be genuine for him. You know what he said when he got up there?

"When I grow up I wanna be just like my dad."

And we all lost it. If that doesn't just make you wanna have kids, I don't know what does. Don't tell kids what they wanna be. They already know…

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 05 2008
Angela

A friend of mine was saying today that at her church in London, they talked about this out of the Proverbs. Their Pastor was saying that when Solomon said “Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it” that he wasn’t talking about religious training. He was talking about discovering and cultivating your child’s natural gifts and talents. I don’t know all the theology behind the translation of scripture, but I know that verse makes a lot more sense in that light.

25 05 2008
Angela

A friend of mine was saying today that at her church in London, they talked about this out of the Proverbs. Their Pastor was saying that when Solomon said “Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it” that he wasn’t talking about religious training. He was talking about discovering and cultivating your child’s natural gifts and talents. I don’t know all the theology behind the translation of scripture, but I know that verse makes a lot more sense in that light.

Leave a Reply

