Summer, Summer, Summertime!

27 05 2008

I actually had a good day today. It started out with a trip to the doctor for a routine physical. Apparently I'm in good health. Let me just say that I love my doctors. My OB/GYN is Dr. Felicia Dawson and her office is right across the street from Crawford Long. She is a holistic doctor and gives great advice about eating and lifestyle habits to improve your health, rather than being quick to give out quick-fix drugs to solve problems. My general practitioner is Dr. Dwana Bush, which is who I went to see today. She's located in Buckhead off Roswell Rd. It's a small office but she's great about making you feel comfortable and like she is actually paying attention to you and your health needs, not just trying to rush through to get to the next patient. It's been about 2 years since my last physical, but she seemed to remember me. Even if she didn't really remember me at least she took the time to read my chart and give herself a refresher before entering the room, which meant a lot to me.

At any rate, I got to school and gave two out of my three finals. They seemed to go well. I give the last final tomorrow and then I'll be done for this quarter–well kind of. After that then I have to do my grades (oh, fun). But I've been keeping up with the grades pretty well this quarter so hopefully it won't take me as long as it usually does.

It looks like this summer break is going to be a very busy one for me. The good news is that we don't have to be in the office for 7 weeks. This is the first time since I've been teaching at that school that we'll finally get a summer break. Usually we teach year-round. Two of those weeks I have vacation but the other 5 I have to do faculty development stuff. I've got a lot of stuff planned for those 5 weeks. For starters, I'll be finishing up Faithfully Divided. Shandra gave us the schedule and we should be locking picture by July 8. I'm also editing a project for author Shaunti Feldhahn. I'll be shooting a short with Jon in a couple of weeks and I'm going to do the 48 Hour Film Festival again this year. Then I got an email today from Jon's parent's that they want me to teach a media class for teens as part of this summer program that they're doing, so that should be fun. I'm also going to be doing some research and hopefully writing my first scholarly paper on Online Learning and the Digital Divide (more on that later). It's been my dream for awhile to publish an article in some kind of academic journal so hopefully this'll be the ticket. I'm also revamping all my course curriculum for Quarter 3. So yeah, it'll be a busy summer. I have to make sure I make a schedule for myself so I don't get off track and start slacking.

I'll be moving in less than 3 weeks and so I have that to add to my list of to-do's as well. I'm so looking forward to moving though. June 15 can't get here fast enough, although I dread the thought of actually moving all this furniture…

But hopefully in the midst of all this I'll be able to kick back and enjoy at least a little bit of this glorious summer in Atlanta. 

In the meantime, can you finish the rest of this song?

"Summer, Summer, Summertime! Summertime…time to sit back and unwind…Here it is a groove slightly transformed. Just a bit of a break from the norm. Just a little somethin' to break the monotony of all that hardcore dance that has gotten to be….."

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 05 2008
Jam

You are really dating yourself quoting The Fresh Prince.

27 05 2008
Avril

I know!! Hehehe….crazy…

Leave a Reply

