Goodbye Green Bean, Hello Thelma

4 07 2008

It’s official. The Green Bean is dead.

I was devastated a week ago when I got the call from Allstate that my car was a total loss after the accident with my sister. I had no idea that when I dropped my car off at the body shop to be fixed two weeks ago that I would never drive my car again. Allstate instructed me to go to the repair shop and clean out my belongings. When I got there, they had my little Green Bean sitting over in the car cemetery with all the other cars that were beyond repair.

IMAGE_00134
I think what saddened me the most was how torn apart the car was. The bumper was in the backseat. Headlights and other parts were sprawled out on the concrete. All I could do was cry. Me and the Green Bean have been through a lot together–trips up and down the NJ Turnpike to NY and Philly, back and forth across the GW Bridge to get to class everyday. That car brought me all the way down here to the ATL. I’ll never forget the day I got the title to that car. After 6 years of car payment agony on a freelance videographer’s salary, all the while dodging fear of the repo man coming to take the car away, I finally paid the last payment (well, technically my Aunt Bessie paid it). What a great feeling that was.

IMAGE_00132
 IMAGE_00131IMAGE_00129 

Seeing her there so to’ up was a bit hard to take. Ahhh…yes, there’s a history there with the Green Bean so I was sad to see her go.

But the reality is that the Green Bean had its own share of issues before the accident. The A/C had given out, the gas gauge broke, my driver’s side window didn’t work, and a host of other problems. So in a weird kind of way it was like a blessing in disguise.

The silver lining in all this is that I got to get a new car. With the settlement from the accident and some help from my dad, I was able to get a PT Cruiser, which I have been wanting for a long time. I used to hate those little cars. That is until I drove one.

Ever since the Labor Day Retreat last year I have been wanting one of these. It drives good, and it’s compact, yet roomy inside for a tall girl like me. And it’s weird looking and odd–just like me. I love to be different from the crowd. Everybody who sees it says it’s such a “me” car, that it suits me and my style very well. It has a kind of old-school feel to it so I decided to name her Thelma. I think Thelma and I will get along very well together. Check her out! 

100_0958
 100_0959

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 07 2008
joe

Avril, congrats on the PT Cruiser! We have an ’05 gold-colored PT Cruiser as well that looks JUST like yours. We’ve named it Petey (really just a play on words, genius I know). Great vehicle! Sorry to hear all about the accident and such, but I hope you enjoy the Cruiser!!

7 07 2008
Jam

Congrats on the new ride!

Leave a Reply

