Random Thoughts on a Tuesday Night (Wednesday Morning)

16 07 2008

Today was a good day. I got up early this morning and did a Media Workshop for the teens at Harvest Rain Church in Fairburn. Jon’s mom does some work with them there and she asked me to come and do a two-week session with the kids called Media Mania. It’s been a long time since I’ve worked with teens. I forgot how unenthusiastic they can be. But then at the end of the day they’re like “This was the bestest class ever!” Who knew? I sure couldn’t tell by the looks on their faces. I guess it’s the cool factor. Aw well, gotta love ’em. Overall they’re a good group and I had fun so I look forward to our next few sessions together.

One more week until classes start back up and I don’t really feel like I accomplished all the things I wanted to get done over the break. Faithfully Divided ended up taking up so much of my time. I’ll be spending the rest of this week trying to get my syllabi together and do the best I can at making this a successful quarter.

I’m still a bit shocked at the responses I’ve been getting to my post from Saturday night. I said it before but it’s good to know I’m not alone. I came across this post on another Convergence website and I thought it was quite interesting and related to my Turbulent Times post. It’s funny. Sometimes I think Christianity has become so focused on receiving blessings and material possessions and “reaping a harvest” that when these things don’t happen we feel like we’ve missed something. But when you look at the things that Jesus talked about most, they’re a little less tangible and have less to do with us. What gospel are we preaching?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

