My People, My People…

1 08 2008

This is the first time in history that black folks have ever had a black presidential nominee, and we don’t know what to do with ourselves.

First it was jazz singer Rene Marie making the all-but “brilliant” decision to sneak in the lyrics to the Black National Anthem instead of singing the Star-Spangled Banner at a recent mayoral event in Denver like she was asked to do. While most of the white people in the audience were probably clueless because they didn’t even know we had a Black National Anthem (yes, we do. It’s called “Lift Every Voice and Sing” and it was written by James Weldon Johnson in 1900), when they realized by the end that she didn’t make one mention of “the rockets red glare” then everybody got their knickers all in a twitter. She said she did it in honor of the fact that Barak Obama was coming to Denver to speak or something like that. I’m all for free speech. And I never really understood why people go overboard with making such a big deal about inanimate objects such as a flag or a song. But I was offended by her rendition if for no other reason than I feel like she messed up the Black National Anthem and because she didn’t follow instructions, and less for the fact that she disrespected the Star-Spangled Banner.

Then it was Ludacris’ Obama Is Here, which is just…well, I don’t even know what to say about that one. All I can say is “Why???” I almost wonder if he meant for that song to be made public. Like maybe he was just playing around in the studio or something. I don’t know. Either way, thanks Luda. Thanks for increasing America’s confidence in an Obama presidency.

But this. This takes the cake. How come everytime there’s a historic event, black folks got to make a dance out of it? And why is the dance always some version of the Electric Slide? And why, why? Why we always gotta make homemade T-shirts to go along with the event? My favorite is the lady on the left with the Obama-faced, shredded dress/t-shirt thingy. I guess I better go practice up, ‘cuz we’ll probably be doing this rendition at the next family reunion…

Actions

Information

One response

9 08 2008
Roz Scott

Black folks always just want a reason to make up a dance!! Yes my sister, I do read your blog.

Leave a Reply

