Random Thoughts on a Monday Night

19 08 2008

I've got a lot on my mind today and I don't know where to start…

I'm going back to work tomorrow. This makes me happy and sad at the same time. Sad because I like staying home watching TV all day. Happy because I don't like staying home watching TV all day because I'm bed-ridden from pain. I'll be glad to see my students again. I miss those guys–even though they aggrevate me half the time.

I'm done with emergency rooms. When I went to the ER at Piedmont Hospital, the doctor gave me codeine for my neck. Little did I know that that wasn't going to do very much for my neck. It made me loopy and dizzy and nauceous but that's about it. To top it off practically everyone who I've talked to since Monday about the experience one of their first questions has been "Did they give you a muscle relaxer?" Since this was the first time I've ever had wryneck, I didn't know that that's what you need to fix a muscle spasm (I guess it would make sense but HEY, sue me for expecting doctors in the ER to know what they're talking about). At any rate, I met a woman at my friend Shandra's baby shower over the weekend and she was a doctor who works at Concentra Medical Center, an urgent care facility on Spring St. She recommended that I go there and they would give me a muscle relaxer. I went there first thing Sunday morning. The staff was so nice and friendly and they gave me a muscle relaxer and now I'm on the road to recovery. Screw the ER, next time I have an injury I'm going to Concentra!

Did anybody watch the forum Rick Warren did over the weekend with Barak Obama and John McCain at Saddleback Church? I watched it and enjoyed it quite a bit. I guess you can call me a very cautious, skeptic supporter of Obama, but watching the forum actually made me think that I might like the little guy. I've been listening to a lot of analysts since then and people have been getting on him about being vague. Personally, I don't think he was being vague, I think he was telling the truth. I don't think things are always black and white like we'd like to believe. I really liked his answers to the questions about abortion, gay rights and being rich. These are tough issues that I don't think can always be answered with a yes or no answer. Especially when it comes to abortion–but I won't get on that soapbox tonight…

Hmmm…still missing Jon. I just wanna give him a big hug and kiss. Our schedules just don't seem to coordinate lately. And then with me being sick last week, I wasn't up for very much hugging. All this missing him stuff is causing weird things to happen, though. I'm starting to have daydreams of what it would be like to be married to him and be able to see him everyday…I know, weird…….

Looks like we're winding down on Faithfully Divided. I met with Paula today we hashed out some of the rewrites that she did to the script. Hopefully she'll be able to meet with Michael on Friday to do the voice overs and then I can plop those in and we'll soon be done. (Well, after I do the color corrections and Michael does the sound editing). Whew! So much goes into editing! But I love it! I actually think that doing this project has made me remember how much I love to edit. It's easy to forget sometimes. I wish I could do it more and learn more.

Back to the abortion issue, I'm thinking about doing another short that deals with this controversial topic. I actually came up with the idea over a year ago after reading a newspaper article on the topic. Now I'm just trying to figure out how I want the story to play out. Hmmm…more on that later…

I've been singing "Ashes and Wine" by A Fine Frenzy all day. I just can't seem to get that song outta my head. Maybe I'll listen to it before I go to bed.

Well, I guess I better get to bed now. It's back to the daily grind tomorrow.

Actions

Information

One response

19 08 2008
SIS

Glad to hear you are on the mends. I was wondering about you and work. We’ll chat later.
Luv ya!!

Leave a Reply

