Random Thoughts on a (Super Early) Tuesday Morning

30 09 2008

I know what Susie Orman said. But there's a part of me that's glad the House said no to the $700B bailout. That's just a lotta freakin' money. But then when I found out their reasoning for rejecting it, I felt that that was pretty petty. Whether it's true or not, just the idea that the Republican house voted no because they felt like Nancy Pelosi talked bad about them–that just sounds very childish to me. But I guess they'll come to some kind of conclusion soon. And the rich will continue to get richer and the poor will get poorer…and so it goes…

They've been playing the SNL Sarah Palin skit on CNN all day. Funny stuff.

I'm on vacation all this week as soon as I get my grades done. I think I finished everything, I just have to go into the office tomorrow to drop them off, then I'm off for a week–Yippee!! My breaks always kinda seem like a joke because it's not like I can sit back and enjoy them, really. I don't have to go to class this week but I still have to show up to class next Monday ready to teach. That means I only have this week to work on my syllabi and the 10-week lesson plans for all three of my classes. Well, hopefully I'll get some relaxation in.

WE HAVE NO GAS IN ATLANTA! I have 1/4 tank of gas so at some point tomorrow I will have to make the journey like so many of my fellow Atlantans right now to try and find a gas station that has some gas. Then, like many of my fellow Atlantans, I will probably have to sit and wait in a gas line for about 30-40 minutes. I hope not. Hopefully I can make it into the office tomorrow.

I'm starting to think that I need to see someone about my fear of marriage. My fears are a little strange, especially being that I come from such a stable home. I think it's just that I've been single for so long that I am set in my ways of thinking and I'm having a hard time adjusting to idea of compromising down the road. Or worse yet, I have a fear that things will change drastically for the worse between me and Jon once we get married. I talked with my sister last night and she suggested that Jon and I talk more and that we read some kind of book or workbook on relationships to help us ask those tough questions if we're thinking about eventually getting married. Maybe that's not such a bad idea. Anybody out there have any suggestions?

Does anybody out there watch I Wanna Work for Diddy? Looks like Kim may finally be going home? Maybe? Hopefully? Who's a "dumba$$" now, Poprah? Huh? Talkin' 'bout some "I can't invent a list for you." I was so mad at that cliff hanger at the end, though. Those story editors sure know marketing…

Trying to get back on track spiritually. I signed up to take a Bible study class through the Bible Training Center for Leaders. The classes are held up at Northpoint and it's called "Bible Study Methods and the Rules of Interpretation." It should be interesting. I also plan on joining another small group. I'll be attending GroupLink this Saturday night so I'm looking forward to that. My hope is that I can get into a LadiesLink group so that I can be around some married women in addition to singles.

I had another soft serve ice cream crave last night. Since finding REAL soft serve ice cream cones in the city of Atlanta is like finding a needle in a hay stack (the closest Dairy Queen is about 15 miles away in Smyrna), I think I've come to the conclusion that the best way for me to get a quick fix is by going to McDonalds. So that's what Sadie and Bertha did. We were watching the New Kids on the Block Behind the Music special around 11 pm when we decided that we both wanted some ice cream, but the thing about it is we had already changed for bed. We also started craving brownies. So what did Sadie and Bertha do? Well Sadie (me) ran into the kitchen and whipped up some brownies and threw them in the oven, then we made a mad dash out the door (still in our night clothes, mind you) to get to McDonalds before they closed at midnight and to get back in the house before the brownies finished cooking! We made it back with 2 minutes to spare and Voila! Nice warm brownies and soft serve ice cream. It was so worth it…

100_1142
100_1147

100_1150

100_1152

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

