Religulous

11 10 2008

Khalilah and I just came back from seeing the Bill Mahrer movie Religulous. I must admit, it wasn't until the opening credits started to roll that I thought to myself "What am I doing here? What am I getting myself into??" I went into this movie knowing Bill Mahrer's stance on religion, yet I was curious to see what this movie was all about.

I wasn't disappointed.

It turned out to be a great movie. I was less offended about the digs toward Christianity than I was about all the interviews with Muslims linking them to terrorism. Not all people who practice Islam are terrorists. And production-wise, the movie was a little too long. It should have ended about 30 minutes earlier than it did. But other than that, I thought the film was great. As cynical and irreverant as Mahrer is, I think he was right in many cases. The truth of the matter is that any of us DON'T KNOW for sure what happened back in the day or what will happen when we die. I think the sooner Christians admit this the sooner people will listen to us. I think that Mahrer was really looking for some answers as to why people believe this stuff. Some of the stuff in the Bible is pretty weird, and we do look a little weird for believing it. But hey, that's what faith is. And it's a shame that we as Christians keep creating such a bad picture. In that regard the movie made me sad. Sad that non-believers know the Bible better than we do. Sad that we're ignorant of history and of world events because all we know how to talk about is church. Sad that we've corrupted the Bible and manipulated people in the name of God. Sad that we've made the Bible say things that it really doesn't say. Sad that we believe in things and rituals that aren't really true. Sad that we elect politicians based on their "faith" without challenging them on the integrity of their walk. Sad that we let one political party pimp our votes. Sad that sometimes we get so arrogant in our beliefs that we end up turning people even further away from God.

I wish I could meet Bill Mahrer one day and we could kick it. I just want to let him know that I am one of those people that believes. Because the truth of the matter is we live in a screwed up world. I mean, really. And if believing in these stories helps me get through each day, then just call me Wacko. No, I don't know all the answers. Yes, I have plenty of doubts. One thing he said at the end of the movie is that doubt is the basis of humility. I think that is true. The fact that I have questions and doubts about God and the Bible keep me humble and keep me seeking. I think anyone who thinks they have all the answers is lying.

Well, that's all I have to say for now. Go see this movie only if you think your faith can handle it, after all, it is Bill Mahrer and it is very irreverant but it is raw. It was also interesting to see that so many people came out to see the film even though the average person has never even heard of it. The room was almost packed. And at the end of the audience, a few people CHEERED. Bill Mahrer's message resonates with a lot of people that just don't GET the whole God thing. As for me, in a weird way this movie strengthened and renewed my faith. And encouraged me to continue to "study to show myself approved…"

Actions

Information

One response

11 10 2008
Angela

This was screening at the film festival last week. A lot of people went to see it. Then it opened wide and some people at school were talking about it. I still haven’t decided if I’ll go see it just because Mahrer is such a blowhard… But I am intrigued.

Leave a Reply

