Music Video Inspiration

25 11 2008

As an artist, I'm always looking for things to inspire me so that I can create or just so that I can allow my imagination to soar. So what inspires me? Weird, off-the-beaten path movies about some kind of dysfunction. I know, it's weird but there's nothing like watching a sad or quirky character drama about familial dysfunction or someone dealing with substance abuse (Half Nelson, Requieum for a Dream, Wristcutters, come to mind). Movies that nobody's ever heard of that make me think. Know what else inspires me? Music videos. Weird, music videos that are outside the box and sometimes make no common sense. Here are some examples of some of my favorites:

Gotta love Gnarls for keepin' it real. Here's another one:

You can always count on Bjork to make a crazy music video that doesn't really make sense but is SO COOL. How about my girl Santogold?? If you've never heard of her, you need to look her up. Her album is WONDERFUL. It's a fusion of musical styles that I don't hear a lot these days.

And while we're on Santogold, I LOVE this song from the Converse commercial…

And then lastly, there's Kanye. A lot of people are hatin' on this song but I think it's kinda catchy. I liked it from the time I first saw him perform it on the MTV Awards.

Ok, so here's a little sidebar, but am I really that slow or has anybody heard of Jazmine Sullivan? I just heard of her for the first time last Friday on the Steve Harvey Morning Show. This girl has an AMAZING voice. Very reminicent of Lauryn Hill. She sang live on the radio and I really thought it was the record until I heard Steve and Nephew Tommy making comments in the background. I wanted to put her video here on the site but YouTube (or probably the record company) wouldn't let me embed the video. It's not weird or anything but I do like it. Especially the parts where she's inside the spinning record. If you want to see it, you'll have to click here.

So those are just some of my favorite music videos that fuel my artistic fire. What about you? What movies or videos bring out the inner artist in you? 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

