Love Lesson #1: I’m a Scumbag (Or, Love Is Giving)

3 12 2008

Being in a relationship has definitely been teaching me a lot. About life, about myself, and about what it means to love someone. So I thought I'd start a new category on Convergence called Love Lessons, where I can share with you some of the things I've been learning as I go along this journey…..

So I just had my weekly date with Jon and he just let me know what a scumbag I am. Well, not really. He didn't exactly call me a scumbag. But he did let me know how selfish I can be. Relationships are great but they can be really hard. You really have to put yourself aside. Loving is giving. But me? It's like "Yeah, babe, I feel like we're not spending enough time together. But here's the catch. You need to always go out of your way to come and visit me so that I don't have to leave the comforts of my own home." Sometimes I'm surprised that Jon has put up with me for this long. I'm surprised that he still wants to be friends with me, much less marry me. Loving is giving. Loving is giving. I guess I still have a lot to learn about what it means to love someone. I'm very fortunate to have him in my life. Gotta love that guy.

Actions

Information

One response

3 12 2008
sis

Point well taken sis! Keep on learning it’s what makes life, life…!!!

Leave a Reply

