Hello 2009!! I Hope I LIKE You

4 01 2009

100_1504
So this is it! My first blog post of 2009! You would have gotten this on January 1 but the battery on my camera died and I didn’t want to put up a post without my NYE pictures. I gotta say, this past New Year’s Eve may have been one of the best NYEs I have every had. It’s not like I did anything super major. I just spent the evening chillin’ with some dear friends that I like.

I’m starting to realize how important it is to have people in your life that you like. Not people that you tolerate. Maybe not even people you love. Sometimes we love people because we feel obligated, because we feel like we should, or because they have certain qualities that we are attracted to. But how many people do you have in your life that you actually LIKE? People that you actually want to hang around if for no other reason than to share a laugh or two or to share some good conversation.  There’s some people in my life that I find myself clamoring to spend time with because I LIKE them. I like being around them. Do you have people in your life like that?

So yeah, nice time. I cooked a lot of food, including these yummy raspberry parfaits…
100_1522
 

So New Year's is a time when most people make resolutions. I do believe in resolutions and goals, even though some of them I do not always keep. One of my goals for 2009 is to stay current with my blog and to post pictures as I take them. I kind of slacked off in that area as you can see from my Facebook page, where I just posted all of my pictures from 2008. I'll do better this year.

My other goal is to get back into the groove with movie-watching. I was a total slacker in this area in '08. I didn't stay very up-to-date with the latest indie flicks so I missed a lot of good ones last year. Now that my friend Angela is back in town I've got more motivation to get back into the swing of things. Already she and I have gone to see Doubt and we're going to see Last Chance Harvey on Monday.

Career-wise, in 2008 I kind of allowed myself to sink into some kind of cocoon. I spent most of my time editing projects, I didn’t direct a whole lot this year. I also didn’t socialize in the film community very much in ’08. It was a year that I stayed locked up behind a computer and a spinning wheel. So this year, I’m going to make it a point to step out of my cocoon and get myself active again in the
Atlanta film community. I also want to make it a point to direct more projects this year. I’d like to direct some more music videos and a couple of shorts too.

Other goals include:

  • getting into a consistent workout routine
  • actually finishing my screenplay, "Something Worth Waiting For"
  • travelling
  • starting to make the film about my mother's life
  • spending time with the people I love (and like)

I guess that's a lot for one year. But one thing I did learn during this break is that there are actually enough hours in the day. I just have to do a better job at managing them. I learned that because I did get a lot accomplished over the 3-week break. Only 1 more day and my break is over. 😦 Time to go back and teach the chi'ren. I dread going back because I have really enjoyed the rest and I wish I could have just one more week. Ah well, such is life. Back to the grind…

So long, 2008! Hello 2009! Hopefully I will like you!

100_1507
   100_1513
100_1512
100_1511
100_1510
100_1509
100_1516
100_1508

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

