Recap

20 04 2009

Good morning everybody! It's officially been a whole two weeks since my last blog! Maybe I should change my blogging frequency to like once a week or something. Who knows. So much happened last week along, let me try to catch you up…

I got back from South Carolina for my grandfather's funeral last Sunday and stayed in Stockbridge Sunday night. It felt so good to be around family for that whole weekend that I literally did not want to go home. I think that may have been the first time that I actually felt sad to leave and come back to the city. But I'm glad I did come back and re-enter the world called life. Family is so important. I think sometimes we take family for granted and forget the fact that if it weren't for them, we'd be nothing.

On Wednesday my editing class took a field trip to CineFilm, the largest film processing lab here in the southeast. It was a blast to be able to see all the machines that process film and do the color timing. I would love to learn more about color timing and color correction. At some point I'm going to contact them about doing some work with them.

Thursday I had lunch with Jon. That's right. We're talking again. What's nice is that we're taking things slow this time and allowing ourselves to be friends. It's a little weird  but very refreshing at the same time. There are a lot of things that I still feel I don't know about him. So I'm looking forward to getting to know him all over again. We'll see what becomes of it.

Saturday I got a chance to videotape the singles of Buckhead Church as they did community service projects all around Atlanta as part of the doJustice campaign. It was a lot of fun and there were so many people! It's nice to know that so many people were willing to serve. I think that about 65 or so groups went out and did some good for the community. It was fun videotaping too and being able to see many of the different groups.

After that I went over to the Hotel Midtown where the Georgia Big Picture Conference was having a Film workshop as part of the Atlanta Film Festival. Joe Binford arranged for those of us in his class to assist the folks at Kodak in running the workshop. The workshop was designed to teach people about film and shooting with a film camera. It was a hands-on workshop where the participants actually had a chance to shoot a little scene and later Kodak will get the film developed and send them a DVD. So me and some people from my class were able to be Assistant Camerwomen for the day. It was cool to work with such a great DP. His name was Joe D'Allessandro and he's shot and AC'd a ton of films. He was very nice. This editing class I'm taking is opening up my mind to a lot of possibilities and I''m really enjoying it.

Yesterday (Sunday) I went to Hampton for the dedication of my friends Zandrea and Gator's twin babies Solomon and Shiloh. It was very nice to see them and to see their family 'cuz I haven't seen or talked to them in a minute. This was my second time attending a baby dedication within the last 2 weeks. From now on I need to ask my friends what is the dress code for their church because both times I got all dressed up because I didn't want to be disrespectful to my friends and their church cultures, then I got there and people were dressed very casually. Anybody who knows me knows that I HATE heels, so anytime I can get out of wearing them, I welcome the opportunity. Well, I could always get some flats but I don't have any so until then it's either sneakers or heels. That or flip flops… 🙂

I'm not gonna make any empty promises about the next time I'll blog but I'll at least try not to make it 2 weeks next time. LOL

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

