A Litte Tidbit About Myself

29 04 2009

"A man falls in love through his eyes, a woman through her ears." – Woodrow Wyatt

I was awakened this morning by a friend who sent me the above text message. It was pretty random, as that was all that the text message said, but I took it as a sign from God, a confirmation of some things I've been thinking about the past few days.

One of the major things I've learned within the past couple of days, weeks, and months is that I require a lot more attention than I thought. I've always put on this persona like I'm an independent woman and I don't need a man to be all up in my face all the time. Well, that theory works when I'm trying to keep people at a distance. But when I'm really trying to get close to someone, I want to be around them all the time. And being around them doesn't always have to mean face to face. It could be talking on the phone, emailing.

When it comes to men, I like to be pursued. As far as women falling in love through their ears, for me it's true. Hearing the words I love you, being complimented, or just plain hearing someone's voice gives me affirmation that I am in the presence of someone who cares and as a result draws me closer. Not hearing those things makes me doubt and begin to lose hope and interest in the relationship. It's a slippery slope because if I'm not interested in the person, that kind of attention can be annoying. If I am interested, it's a necessity…

Can anybody relate to that?

Actions

Information

One response

29 04 2009
Jam

What are you saying that women actually need men? I remember that quote from Gloria Steinem – “A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle.” Sure it’s a bit extreme but sometimes I wonder. Do women really need men at all? I guess that’s a blog post for me? I definitely think that men need women.

Leave a Reply

