Here’s Lookin’ At You, 2009

22 06 2009

100_1504 So yesterday was Father's Day. It was also the first day of summer, which also means that we are halfway through the year 2009. This reminded me of this post that I wrote at the beginning of '09, and I figured now would be a good of a time as any to evaluate how this year is going so far.

On the surface, I would say that 2009 is not going so well so far. I just broke up with Jon for the second time. We broke up once in February. He broke up with me that time. Said we should take 2 months off and see where we go from there. We reconnected after 2 months and tried to be just friends. It's very difficult to be strictly friends with someone that you've been with for a year and a half. Needless to say, I didn't feel like it was working so I broke it off last week. I feel HORRIBLE about it mainly because it really didn't go down the way I planned. He was really hurt and I don't like hurting people. I also feel bad because I feel like once again my point was a little misunderstood. I really wish we could have remained friends and talked it through but I think I may have completely alienated him and made him never want to speak to me ever again. How do these things happen? It's like you have in your mind how the whole thing should happen and then one text, one phone call just makes things take a turn for the worst…

Work is stressing me out. There's lots of turmoil, unrest and confusion going on. We were told back in late March/ early April that some of us would be laid off but as of today, June 22, we still don't know who. So all of us at work have been living in this state of uncertainty for the past 3 months and it's causing all of us a lot of anxiety and stress.

And well, I told you about my problems with church.

So all of these issues have been stressing me out so much that I haven't really had a chance to enjoy 2009 yet. I'm really hoping that the 2nd half of 2009 gets much better…

On the same token, as I look at my post from January, I do see that a few of my goals that I set out with have indeed actually been met. I've been doing a little better at posting pictures on my Facebook. I've kinda gotten back into the filmmaker scene. As a matter of fact, my film "Defining Moments" is screening at the Black Women's Film Festival tonight at the Woodruff Arts Center at 7 pm so that's exciting. They had a whole weekend of panels and events that I went to which was also cool.

SWWF ring photo  I also finished writing my screenplay "Something Worth Waiting For." Not only did I finish writing it but I found a producer for it and we are actually moving toward making the film in summer 2010. This is probably the biggest highlight of my year so far. We just launched the website for the film – www.somethingworthwaitingfor.com. We've also started a Facebook page for the movie and we've already gotten a ton of fans! We'll be shooting a trailer for the film in September and will soon launch our fundraising campaign to help with production costs. So check out the website, become a fan! Just as much as it takes a village to raise a child, it takes a village to make a movie too!

So as far as 2009 goals, I still have some other areas I need to work on–like working out…Ay-yi-yi…I've got a long way to go in that area…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

