All Up In My Stuff

12 09 2009

Do you have people in your life who don't have a problem getting all up in your stuff? I'm not talking about nosey people. I'm talking about people who know your business and don't have a problem telling you when you're off track.

A few weeks ago I met with Paula (mentor, Producer of Faithfully Divided). It started out as an editor's meeting for her to let me know what changes she wanted me to make to her documentary. But it ended up with her basically "reading" me and reminding me of who I am. She reminded me that I am not mediocre and that I still have stories inside of me to tell. "What's your A story and what's your B story," she asked, making reference to the rules of screenwriting but applying it to my life. "For some reason you've gotten comfortable and you've settled for less than your A story." It was a powerful talking to that I really needed.

There's so much going on in my life right now, which is why I haven't had the time to blog lately. I'm teaching full-time at AIU, part-time at Kennesaw State, I'm in the process of getting ready to make a trailer for my film, Something Worth Waiting For, in about 2 weeks, I'm doing more edits on Faithfully Divided and I'm serving and helping out with a new church plant, Blueprint Church, in downtown Atlanta. I'm really excited about all of these things except one…

This past Tuesday my friend Donna, who used to be in my small group and now lives in North Carolina came down for a visit and we decided to grab breakfast. Donna is one of 9 women who constantly heard me lift up so many prayer requests to change jobs, that I started to sound like the boy who cried wolf. But this time as I told her about all the things that are going on in my life right now she said to me, "Everything sounds so great and exciting except that one fly in the ointment…."

I know what the fly in the ointment is. I think both of these wise women are confirming in so many words that the winds of change are blowing in my life. I've got to figure out how to bring the "A" story of my life, which is filmmaking, back to the forefront. And in order to do that I think I'm going to have to let that one fly go…one way or another…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

