The View From the Beach – Day 2

9 11 2009

Well, yesterday was my first day at the Art Within Lab and I must say my world is being wrecked already. As a matter of fact, the wreckage already began on my way down here in the car. I’m already being challenged to rethink things pertaining to my writing and even pertaining to my career…

I’m telling you, this lab is pretty intense…in the sense that we’re pretty much going all day long. But the time goes by so fast! Needless to say, so far I’m getting some interesting insight about my writing and even about my career path in general. Last night we did an exercise where we had to share clips from films that moved us to action, moved us to anger, and moved us to say “amen”. My three movies (in order) were Do the Right Thing, Revolutionary Road, and Pursuit of Happyness. Then we had to look at each other’s films and find the common threads. Here were some of my threads…

  • All of the movies I chose were character-driven
  • There was an urgency hope in all of the movies I chose — in some an expected hope that was deferred, in others a hope achieved
  • In each film I chose there was some form of societal pressure that was preventing the characters from having freedom.
  • There was a constant theme of family.
  • There were constant themes of freedom vs. trapped and honesty vs. idealism
  • The scenes I chose were very complicated; they were difficult subjects to talk about
  • there was a lot of passion in the films and in the issues they dealt with

Im not sure if you’ve seen the movies I referenced above but these threads that my peers pointed out really meant a lot of me in terms of trying to understand my voice as a filmmaker. I think a lot of what they said was on target, and I’m trying to process what that means and what that looks like for my art.

I’m really looking forward to the rest of these 2 weeks to try and flesh that out. I will keep you posted…

In the meantime, we are in the midst of a hurricane warning here. Yes, Hurricane Ida is scheduled to strike mid-afternoon. So far right now we’re getting a lot of wind and that’s about it. The waves don’t look too high. We haven’t talked about leaving yet, the news said it should be a Category 1 storm by the time it hits here so we’ll see what happens. It’s just now starting to rain now as I type this…Going to get breakfast now, I’ll keep you all posted on what happens!

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 11 2009
Angela

Wow. That sounds like an amazing exercise! Puts you in a place a vulnerability right out of the gate. I feel kind of exposed just thinking about it. But at the same time, I’d love to do the same thing!! Maybe you can put me through some of these exercises when you get back??

10 11 2009
Avril

Angela! It was amazing and I’d love to take you through some of these exercises. I think they’re really good and really helpful.

Leave a Reply

