One Week Down…

24 07 2010

Well, today makes one full week since we've been living here in the MD/DC area. And what a week it's been. The night before I left ATL I was rear-ended while driving on 75/85 so that's been a chore trying to deal with that. It took us 11 HOURS to pack the truck last Friday because it turns out that Khalilah and I have a lot more stuff than we thought we did. We left ATL at 4:30 after only getting about 2 hours of sleep, so needless to say the ride up here was tough. It took me and Khalilah about 14 HOURS to get here, when it should've only taken us 10, because we had to stop and take a nap, and because we hit heavy rain and traffic in NC. Fortunately, my dad and my brother-in-law Dwight were able to muscle through and made it to MD before we did so they were able to start unloading the truck before we got here.

This first week has been a rather tough one. I miss Atlanta terribly. I really didn't expect to be this homesick, especially being that I had such fond memories of MD/DC after having gone to undergrad here. I remember when I first found out I got into Columbia University. I almost didn't want to take the opportunity because I loved DC so much that I didn't want to leave. But now coming back here I find myself confused by the streets. And the friends that I had here all have their own lives and I don't want to intrude or impose upon them just because I'm the new girl (kinda) in town. I think what makes matters worse is that I don't have my car because it's still in ATL for the next couple of weeks.

So it's been a rough transition. Rougher than I thought it would be. But last night Khalilah and I did go out with my friend Synina. We did my favorite–karaoke–at a Trinidadian restaurant downtown. It was a lot of fun although I'm not used to going to karaoke and singing so many R&B songs. I'm used to rocking out!! Me, Khalilah and Synina did Singles Ladies and it was a train wreck but still so much fun! I will never ever do a Beyonce song at karaoke ever again. That woman sings too many words in one bar. I don't understand how she's able to sing all that and still dance like a maniac too! She's not human, she's a machine. As you can see from the pictures below, it wore me out!

Tomorrow Khalilah and I will start our quest to find a new church. She starts work next week so I'll have to get through the days by myself. I'm trying to map things out on the Metro and give myself things to do each day so that I don't get bored and lonely. Plus I need to get out of the house and try to make some new friends. I'm really hoping that this week will be better than last week in terms of starting to feel like this place is home again…

IMG_0018
IMG_0015

 

IMG_0013
 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

