The Bug Bites Again

11 10 2010

Well, the seminary bug is biting me once again. Yes, I’m thinking about going back to school. And since I work at HU I’m thinking why not take advantage of some of the programs they have to offer. Only thing is I didn’t want to get another masters, I’d rather get a PhD. But the MA in Religious Studies seems to be the only degree there that meets my interests.

So I’m thinking about studying the Black Church in contemporary society. Having grown up in the black church and now being out of the black church, if you ask me, I think the black church is in need of some reform. Why do I say that? Well for starters, most of the black people I know no longer go to “black church” and they all have some kind of story about being glad to “come up out of” the black church. Ive also read several articles saying that the black church is dying, numbers are dwindling…and then you add to that the latest scandals in the church…I think if we keep this up, there will be no black church to speak of.

I’ll post some more thoughts on this topic later but what are your thoughts? And I know, I know, there’s no such thing as black church and white church. It’s Gods church. And I agree with that but I’ll address that at another time. But for right now, do you think there’s anything wrong with the black church as it is?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

