Not So Nice

22 12 2010

So I had planned to write a post tonight about love and relationships…that is until I came across this blog post by Ricky Gervais, a British comedian and the original writer of "The Office." Some of you may have read it or heard about it. I couldn't get mad at the guy for what he wrote…he's entitled to his own feelings and opinions. But the post did make me sad, and ok fine. I admit it. It made me a wee bit angry.

Not angry at Gervais, but angry that the world thinks that us supposed Christians are supposed to be such great people. And angry that we can't live up to that expectation. Contrary to what some might think, it's really hard for me to be "good." I mean, I may put up a good front about the obvious things. I'm sweet and kind, I generally don't cuss people out. I don't kill people. I don't steal. But I think terrible thoughts. I'm highly inconsiderate at times. Oh, and that book I mentioned the other day? Part of me is scared to release it because it contains some revealing things about myself and the things I've done in the past that might really piss some people off. Gervais says:

“Do unto others…” is a good rule of thumb. I live by that. Forgiveness is probably the greatest virtue there is. But that’s exactly what it is -­‐ a virtue. Not just a Christian virtue. No one owns being good. I’m good. I just don’t believe I’ll be rewarded for it in heaven. My reward is here and now. It’s knowing that I try to do the right thing. That I lived a good life. And that’s where spirituality really lost its way. When it became a stick to beat people with. “Do this or you’ll burn in hell.”

You won’t burn in hell. But be nice anyway.

Problem is, I don't do a very good job with that being nice thing on my own…

Why do I believe in God? It's the only hope I have of making it through and having some peace in this crazy, mixed up world. And sue me if it gives me hope for a life beyond said crazy, mixed up world. It's how I get help in trying to be nice. It's how I know I'm not judged or condemned for those times when I'm not being so nice.

The day that I embraced the fact that I'm a Christian and I ain't got it all together, was probably one of the most liberating days of my life. It allowed me to stop beating people over the head with the judgemental measuring stick of religion everyday and start  enjoying the journey called life.

If only the world would come on this journey with me…

Actions

Information

One response

22 12 2010
Angela

I think the definition of what’s “good” is also a huge disconnect between Christians and the world. I get a little sadder every day when I think about how mean people were to each other when I worked at a church vs. how kind and forgiving they are to one another on film sets and other places. It really is a shame.
I also find some major flaws with the “unscientific” argument against God. It assumes that human senses and inventions are completely capable of perceiving all that there is to perceive. I believe that our senses are easily tricked and our minds easily deceived. But that’s a whole different conversation for a whole different day.

Leave a Reply

