Random Thoughts on an Sunday Night…

28 03 2011

…Well, tonight is my last night in the ATL. I'm trying hard not to be too upset about this but I'm failing miserably. In the words of Mary J. Blige "No, I'm not gon' cry, I'm not gon' cry, I'm not gon' shed no tear…." I had such a great time while I was here and I really don't want it to end. While I was in town I got to have breakfast at Cracker Barrell with my friend Shandra, dinner at the BEST Ethiopian restaurant I've EVER been to in my LIFE–Desta–with my friend Loria and then great dessert at a great cafe called Tah Cha (or something like that). I got to hang out with the cool ladies from small group and go to a cool wedding, and then today I had brunch at Front Page News and a movie with my friends Paula and Angela, church at Buckhead Church, then dinner at Pero's Pizza with my friend Jessica. So yes, I did a lot of eating while here in Atlanta. It's one of my favorite past-times! 🙂

As I was driving down here this past weekend I was trying to figure out for myself why I have so much against DC. I thought about the fact that I grew up on the North/East coast all of my life…Grew up in NJ and NY, went to school in MD/DC, then went back home to NJ and NY…all over the course of 29 years.

When I first moved to Atlanta it was like culture shock, but I almost immediately fell in love with the almost non-existent springtime and the long summers. I grew to love the open space and the slow(er) pace. I learned how to sit back and enjoy the "sweet tea."…maybe I'm just over the cold and the hustle and bustle of northern living. I don't know if it's an age thing, if it's a comfort thing or what. But maybe I've become a southern girl…ugg…saying that almost makes me hurl, but maybe there's some truth in it…well, a southern girl in my own kind of artistic way…and just going back into that environment in the north is just more than I want to deal with…I don't know, we'll see what happens in the next year…

Last time I drove down here, I got all emotional and stuff when it was time to take that drive up 85 and eventually see the Atlanta skyline fade into the distance. Hopefully, I'll fare a little bit better tomorrow morning. In the meantime I guess I better force myself to get some sleep. I've got a loooonnngg drive ahead of me in just a few hours…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

