Things I Learned This Weekend…

29 06 2011

I know. It’s been a minute since I last blogged, but once again I’ve been in a season where my life has seemed to be on auto-pilot. I’ve been to Haiti, to LA, to NJ, to PA, to NY and back to DC–all in a matter of one month and boy, is my body feeling it. Not to mention that my sister and nephew were in town ever since  last Thursday and being a DC tour guide has my legs still burning from all the walking we did. I can’t believe that after all these years, no one has started a FREE shuttle service to get you from one end of the National Mall to the other? Aw well, I guess we all needed the exercise.

At any rate, I’ve learned many lessons this past month during my travels, but tonight I’m reflecting on the two valuable things I discovered this weekend while hanging out with my sister…

1) I’ve been missing great opportunities to hang out with my extended family. My immediate family tends to be very close. But I don’t do as great a job of keeping up with my extended family. This past weekend my sister and I connected with my cousin Douglas and his family, who live in Silver Spring. We all hung out at the National Mall on Saturday seeing all the sights, from the Air & Space Museum all the way down to the Lincoln Memorial. It was a long day and we were exhausted, but it reminded me of just how special it is to be around family. It brought to my remembrance that I actually have a number of family members here in the DC area that I still have yet to connect with, even though I’ve been here for a year. This must change…

2) I’ve been missing great opportunities to see the beauty of DC. Nothing makes you appreciate a city more than when you have out-of-town guests who think your city is great. As much as I complain about DC, I had a totally different experience with the city this weekend seeing through the eyes of my sister and my 10 year old nephew. DC is a city that is rich in culture and diversity. The Smithsonian has so many museums–there’s so much to see and do…I fell in love with the American History Museum. I can’t wait to go back there and study some more. By the way–if you haven’t seen it already, you should go see the exhibit For All The World To See: Visual Culture and the Struggle for Civil Rights. It highlighted how the media influenced the Civil Rights Movement for good and for bad. It’s great! I was also very intrigued by the display on birth control pills and how it has affected American life and culture. Very fascinating!

Although I’m still not a fan of this city, I want to make it a point to get out and explore the richness of this town for as long as I’m here, even if it is only another year…

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

