Rest, Reflect and Remember

24 09 2011

Last Sunday in church my pastor preached a message about how busyness can prevent us from having depth in our lives, in our relationships with others, and ultimately our relationship with God. He gave us some tips for building solitude into our lives so that we can slow down from the hustle and bustle of life and take the time to “smell the roses.” One of those tips was to take a regular sabbath, and use that as a time to “Rest from work, reflect on God’s wonderful creation, and remember the salvation you have in Christ.”

Well, today I gave that theory a whirl as I set this day aside to spend with God. And what a day it was. My plan was to get on the bus and just go wherever it led me. But when I woke up this morning, it was quite dreary and raining, so I started to just stay home. But the little voice inside said that I should just grab my umbrella and go for it anyway. I’m so glad I listened to that voice!

When I got to the bus stop, I realized that I left my phone at the house. At first I panicked, but then I remembered that one of the other tips that my pastor gave was to turn off electricity and disconnect from “gadgets.” It took everything within me to not turn around and walk all the back to the house and get my phone, but thank God I survived the urgings and decided to get on the bus and head downtown with no technology on my person. I have to admit it felt very weird at first. But I soon adjusted and transported myself back to the days (not so long ago) before I even owned a cell phone.

At any rate, I ended up passing by the National Museum for Women in the Arts. I was intrigued so I got off the bus and went inside. It was so inspiring to see the works of so many great women artists! It inspired me and made me thankful to God for art, and for artists whom He has given a mind to create masterpieces. God created some interesting folks when he created us artists–lol. I count it a joy and a privilege to be able to be part of what He’s up to in this way.  My favorite part of the museum was the Guerilla Girls exhibit, which showcased the group’s protest against the discrimination of all  NYC and DC art galleries who failed to include the artwork of women and women of color. It was very intriguing and informative.

I had lunch at Cosi, where I was able to do a lot of writing in my journal, reflecting and praying. Truly a blessed time. I hopped back on the bus and headed back up to my side of town. I wasn’t quite ready to go back home yet so I went to Starbucks and spent some more time thinking, writing, reflecting, praying and reading. It was awesome.

All in all, my sabbath was a great time and I pray that I can make this a habit in the weeks to come. And it really did help not having a cell phone to distract me from my own thoughts and prevent me from hearing God. So if you haven’t done had a sabbath yet, I’d advise you to do so!

The perfect ending to the night was that Khalilah and I ended up going to dinner at one of our favorite restaurants, Seasons 52. Well, they messed up our order and ended up comping our entire meal so we got to eat for free! Praise God!

Well, on that note, I’m going to bed. One of the other tips was to Go to bed on time and wake up on time. I’ve been better at this this week, so we’ll see what happens, hopefully it’ll continue…For the complete list of tips to build solitude into your life, click here.

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 09 2011
shireese

Good Morning Avril, I love this post! A few times I have forgotten my phone and yes it is a peaceful time. I’m going to plan a day of Sabbath and just talk and listen to God, right now I need that serenity to get back on track in my life.

Thanks for Sharing this a wonderful wake call for me!

Let Go and Let God.

Love ya,

Shireese

25 09 2011
Joey

So encouraged by your desire to increasing love God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength! Sabbath goes a long way in creating space for God to work in our lives – your post was a vivid reminder of that.

May you work out your salvation as God works in you (Phil. 2:12-13).

Joey

25 09 2011
Nathan

Encouraged on a thousand levels Avril, no kidding, I rested just reading your words…we serve an awesome God!

14 06 2013
rest-reflect-and-remember | My Site/Blog

[…] Leave a reply A great article by AVRIL Z. SPEAKS […]

Leave a Reply

