So Many Things…

19 10 2011

So many things have been brewing in my mind the past couple of days, so many things that I’ve wanted to talk about and blog about but I get overwhelmed and end up not writing anything at all. So call this a vent session of sorts. I’ll just share a few of the things that are in this noggin of mine at 8:47 pm on a Tuesday night.

  • It sucks being sick. I’ve been fighting a bad cold since Thursday and it’s not fun. At least now I can breathe, but I’m praying that this thing goes away TONIGHT!!
  • My big sis is coming back to DC this weekend and I am so excited! This will be her first time experiencing our new apartment and the magic of Silver Spring…did I just say “magic” — hehehe!
  • I’ve been reading this Bible plan lately called The Essential 100 and it takes you through the story of the Bible in 100 days. I wanted to do the Bible in a year but I always fail at those things, so I figured maybe doing 100 days instead of 365 would be less intimidating. So far it’s working. But it’s amazing to me the history of failure in humankind. So far I’m up to the book of Judges and so far in every book and almost every few chapters or so, there’s a line that says something like “And the children of Israel did evil again in the sight of the Lord.” I mean I knew that there was a pattern of disobedience in the Bible, but I didn’t realize it was this bad. It just goes to show that the evil that men do is nothing new, and it points to the significance and the brilliance of God’s plan to send his son to save us. For this I am thankful because I am just like the Israelites in that time and time again I disappoint God.
  • Speaking of Judges, Samson was kinda gangsta. Killing folks with donkey bones, tying fox tails together and burning ’em…Um…yeah. Ok. But it’s amazing what he could do when the spirit of the Lord was on him…
  • This excites me. Something about it speaks to me. I not tryna preach. I’m not tryna start a church or a ministry. I want to be a filmmaker. I want to be a teacher. But I want to put that into a greater context. What that looks like I don’t know. But conversations like this are going on around the world about seminaries, about the church, about faith. And I just want a seat at the table…
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

