The Dream

19 10 2011

This past weekend I had the opportunity to go with a group of students to film the MLK Memorial Dedication in downtown DC. What a blessing to be there for this historic occassion. Not only did I have a great time with the students, but it was a great reminder of the cost that my ancestors paid for me to have basic rights like using the same bathroom that everyone else uses in a public space. As I listened to Congressman John Lewis speak, I realized that it really wasn’t even that long ago that African Americans were denied that right. There are still people alive today–my parents and grandmother included–who remember the days when racial inequality was at its peak. This is not something that happened centuries ago. A mere 5-10 years right before I was born, this stuff was going on. And so today in 2011 to have a memorial to Dr. King and to have a black president–it’s kind of surreal. There was one moment where they showed a live shot of President Obama walking around the memorial and I just thought “Wow! How awesome is that?” He is part of the fulfillment of Dr. King’s dream. So am I that I can teach at a historically black university but worship with my white brothers and sisters. So are my niece and nephews who go to schools that are predominately white. A lot has happened in a relatively short period of time. And I think for many of us, we are still trying to figure out our place, trying to figure out what all of this means and how we live out our identity in a so-called “post-racial” world…this is definitely an interesting time…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

