Consider This…

15 11 2011

The more I read the word, the more I’m convinced that many people who oppose Christianity really have no clue what it’s really about. A couple of days ago I reached the halfway point in my Essential 100 Bible Study. After breezing through the Old Testament, it’s never been more clear to me just how depraved mankind really is. The OT is filled with people who do crazy things, who do dumb things, who do cowardly things. People who are far less than perfect. People who dont come anywhere near God’s standards of what is considered good. People who rarely, if ever, get it right. People just like you and me.

And now I’m in the New Testament and I read things like this:

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. (Matthew 6:19-21 ESV)

These words are a reminder that the gospel is so out of this world. Everything that society and the world treasures, the gospels tell us not to treasure–money, power, control, earthly possessions.

It’s hard for me to accept sometimes that I am not perfect. And it’s hard for me to remember sometimes that all of the material things I chase after will fade away like the wind. At the end of the day it doesn’t really matter how many good deeds I do, what type of car I drive or what type of house I live in. Only what I do for Christ, through his grace and love, will have lasting gain.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

