Random Thoughts on a Thanksgiving Night

25 11 2011

Well, I did it. I survived my first Thanksgiving without my family. I missed them alot but I’m thankful that my church family was around to at least partially fill the gap. Some of us who stayed around DC for the holidays got together and had a potluck dinner. And let me tell you, my Restoration Church folks can cook! They stuck a couple of toes in that food, so much so that I’m still thinking about it even at 1:08 am. I wish I would’ve brought a plate home…

My sister says that making decisions like not going home for Thanksgiving are signs that you’re getting older and that you have your own life. I can see some truth in that. Maybe I’m getting prepared for moving across the country when I’ll be able to go home even less than I do now. Who knows…

I realized today that I think I’m becoming old. Well, I didn’t just realize that today, but I did realize that I’m developing old habits. Things like changing into my pajamas at 5 pm, like doing laundry on a Friday night and being happy about it. After dinner today, all I could think about was getting in the bed and taking a nap. Then all I wanted to do was sit on the couch and watch a movie.

I’m finding more and more that I prefer quiet nights at home watching movies over hanging out in the streets with a whole lot of people any day. Hanging out in small groups is nice. But oftentimes I really treasure just being left alone to do things by myself. I think the more I can bring myself to admit this and embrace it, the happier I’ll be, rather than trying to please people…

So the roomie and I have decided to get rid of our cable. Although part of it was a financial decision to save some money, it’s also been a way to challenge us into being more productive, into reading more, and into weaning us off of bad reality tv and onto more quality scripted movies and tv shows.

We saw one such quality movie tonight with finally getting to watch the film Mooz-lum on Netflix. If you havent seen it, you should watch it. An excellent movie about a kid trying to find his identity when he goes off to college after living in a strict Muslim household. It was a wonderful movie. Today I also discovered the show Modern Family. Yes, I know I’m late on this one but thanks to Hulu, I am now on the bandwagon. Hee-la-rious show.

All in all I had a great day. Looking forward to more great times this weekend like the Kirk Franklin concert on Saturday. Cant wait to get my praise on!!

I’m very thankful for a full life filled with family, friends, and a God who loves me. In the word of AJ (from 106 & Park)–Live. Laugh. Love….

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

