Random Thoughts on a Monday Morning

6 02 2012

So the waiting game continues as I stalk the mail everyday to see if I made it into Fuller. For those of you that missed the subtle hints I’ve been dropping, I applied to seminary to study Theology and Film last month so now I’m waiting to hear the results. Some of you may be wondering what’s the purpose of a degree in theology and film. In today’s society, film and media play such an important role, and they are a voice to this generation. There are several people who won’t step foot in a church, but they’ll go to the movies and basically allow a filmmaker to “preach” their point of view all day. What are filmmakers who are Christians missing when it comes to craft/technique that non-believers don’t want to hear the message? And what can theologians learn from “secular” movies when trying to understand the pulse behind our thought patterns? I saw this video the other day of how the Muslim world is taking shows like American Idol and music videos and using them to empower and educate people about their culture. What an amazing way to take something that has become so commercialized and totally remix it to promote a value system. These are the things I look to study in such a program.

On the same token, the more I read this book, the more I wonder if I should also be studying African American theology as well. This has been a topic of interest to me for quite some time. As a matter of fact, it was really this topic that got me thinking about going to seminary in the first place. I really think the black church is in need of reform in some areas, and I’m interested in studying how/if a traditional African American historical theology should be preserved and just fine-tuned or if should be radically done away with to meet the changing times. It’s a topic I spend a lot of time thinking about to myself, and the book that I just referenced has let me know that I am not alone. 🙂

In higher education, we’re always being asked to define our areas of expertise. I know that film production is one of my areas of expertise, but I’m continually seeking to specifically define my area of intellectual knowledge. The other day I started thinking maybe my focus should be on Race, Faith, and Gender in Pop Culture and the Media. I think out of all the topics I’ve come up with, that one seems to stick the most, because I’ve got a whoooole lot to say about each one of those…

I think I may be onto something here. Don’t you just love the process of self-discovery? Hmm…stay tuned…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

