reset. reflect.

25 02 2012

So is this usually around the time when people start to fall off on their New Year’s resolutions? If so, then I’m right on point. Go me. Sigh. Well so much for my goal of blogging at least twice a week. But I’m only two weeks off, so maybe there’s still hope for me.

It’s been a whirlwind the past two weeks. For those of you who were wondering, I got into the Theology and Film program at Fuller! Woohoo!! So I guess I’ll be moving to California in August. I know, that’s a big move for me. Truth is, I’ve been fighting moving to LA for a long time. LA just wasn’t my thing, or so I thought. But I think it’s time and I feel really good and at peace with what’s going on. I’m nervous as all get out, but it’s all good and I’m really looking forward to the transition.

Now that I know I’m leaving the east coast, the moments I spend with friends both old and new are extra special. Which is why I am so excited to be spending this weekend in Philly! I know I rep the ATL so hard that a lot of people think that’s where I’m from. But I’m really a Jersey girl at heart so being here has brought back a lot of memories of traveling up and down the NJ Turnpike to hang out, make movies, and chill with my sister Roslyn in Philly. Today I got to hang out with my friend Andrea who went to my home church in NJ (North Stelton AME). I haven’t seen this girl in over 10 years so you can imagine we had a lot to catch up on! It was such a blessing to catch up and reminisce. It was definitely a reminder of God’s grace in allowing me to have relationships with some great Christian women over the years. And also to reflect on all the ways that we’ve grown through the experiences we’ve had over that time.

Today I also got to hang out with my friend Christina, a fellow believer in the film industry who is making some moves here in the Philly area. Truly an encouraging visit! Tomorrow I get to go to church and hang with my friend June who I haven’t seen in probably over 10 years as well.

I’ve been looking forward to this weekend not just to see old friends but also to get away and hit the reset button so that I could refocus on some of the things that I need to get done within the next few months. It’s turning out to be a pretty eventful weekend so I may have to plan another one of these getaways in the near future so that I can have a little more alone time. But I’m not complaining about this weekend one bit. What a blessing to be around good people!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

