31…

29 05 2012

31 days until I leave DC!

This morning after I woke up, my heart was pounding. I think part of it was because I had just had a dream about Madea–and for those of you that know me and my film taste, I don’t get down with Madea like that. Just not my cup of tea. There was another part of me, though, that started thinking about the reality of these next phases of my life. I thought about that day when I pack the last of my belongings and drive away from DC, leaving my best friend and sister behind. I’ve been friends with Khalilah for 23 years, and we’ve been roomies for 4, so it’s going to be tough not having her there as my road dog and my confidante when I come home at night and am ready to talk about the day. Fortunately, I’ll see her a couple of months after I leave when I go to Texas, and she’ll be there to help me get settled in CA.

With each passing day I’m starting to get a little more insight into this whole going back to school thing. Usually when people ask me what I plan to do with this degree, I tell them that I want to keep on being a professor, just a better one. But there is a part of me that wonders if there is something more to this whole thing. I’m starting to see more and more how sound doctrine can shape my art. Just in the past 3 days–from Sunday’s sermon and from reading one chapter in a book on the atonement, I feel as though my work and my imagination has soared to new depths, simply from gaining a greater understanding of the truths in God’s word. I feel inspired to write again. And now that I’m learning truth, I feel like my stories can deliver a better message.

The truth of the matter is I don’t know what’s going to happen after this program. Some people ask me if I want to preach after going to seminary. Maybe I should start saying yes–sort of. I preach through movies. I’ve got the technical part, but who knows, this could be the other piece that’s been missing all along…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

