Southern Comfort

8 07 2012

Can I just tell you all how thankful I am to be home? I’ve been here for about a week and I haven’t really done very much but it’s such a blessing to just be with my family, to enjoy them and the town of Stockbridge. Yesterday I went to Publix and was reminded of how friendly people in Georgia can be. It was refreshing to hold a full-blown conversation both with my cashier and with the guy collecting shopping carts in the parking lot. Haha! It’s also refreshing to be in a home with a fully stocked pantry and a nice, big, warm, comfy bed. 🙂

I’ve also been very inspired by my family while here. My parents live in a house with my aunt and my grandmother (father’s mother), and it’s beautiful to see how they all serve one another and take care of one another. As long as I can remember, my parents have been prone to take care of their parents. Prior to my father’s mother moving in, my mother’s mother lived with us all throughout my years growing up. We called her Big Mama and she was my best friend up until the day she died. I admire the sacrifices that my mom and dad have made to make sure their parents are/were well taken care of. I pray that I can be bold and courageous enough do the same when my parents get older.

Being here has also reminded me of how much I love and respect my parents, and especially my mom. Last night we lost power at the house so me and my mom sat in the dark while she told me stories about her and my dad getting engaged, getting married and having their first child. I’ve heard these stories so many times before but I’m always fascinated by them. My mother has a remarkable story that I always say one day I’ll make into a movie. As I listened to my mom talk, I could hear a lot of similarities between me and her. Even as I think about some of my own fears about this next phase of my journey, I listen to my mom and it encourages me to know that she made it through and I can too.

Since I’ve been here I haven’t had any agenda. No meetings to go to, no events to attend. I have watched TV with my family, I have sat around the table and talked with them. I have visited my nephew’s karate class, I have gone along for doctor visits with my aunt. I am cherishing these moments.

I’m just so glad to be home. I’m so glad that things worked out that I could be here before my big move. I hope to meet up with friends at some point while I’m here, but for right now it’s just nice to be with family. Things are about to change for me but for now it’s so nice to have the comforts of home.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

